These encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs provide basic background information on Oregon's peoples and places.
Encyclopedia of the American West
by
Through a combination of biographies, histories of the western states, and overview entries on complex topics, the four-volume encyclopedia examines more than stereotypes of cowboys and Indians, opening the door to the diversity of the western experience, from the 18th through the early 20th centuries. Over 1700 alphabetically-arranged entries, 2000 pages, and more than 100 photographs fully define in one source the concerns of the traditional West within the broader framework of social history.
The Encyclopedia of Oregon
A single-volume guide to the history, geography, and government of Oregon. Contains a biographical dictionary of the state governors, a dictionary of places, a guide to historic places, the state constitution, and a quick survey of the geography and history of the state.
These databases and catalogs provide access to scholarly research on the history of Oregon.
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, regional partners, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
