Research Guides: History of Native Nations in the U.S. &amp; Canada: Newspapers and Microfilm

Newspapers & Microfilm

We have an extensive collection of mostly Oregon newspapers on microfilm. See the inventory for a list.

The Microforms Dept has reader/printers for microfilm and microfiche, including two ScanPro 1000 digital microform scanners. You can scan and save to the Hard Drive or to a USB Drive. Using your web-based email, compose message, attach images, and send.

Historic Oregon Newspapers online gives you access to a number of Oregon newspapers from their earliest dates through 1922. (However much more is available on microfilm.)

The Access World News database has the current and historical Oregonian, the Eugene Register-Guard from 2001-present, and current and historical Seattle Post-Intelligencer. It also covers more recent years of many local Oregon papers.

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

For national coverage, try the Historic LA Times and NY Times, and Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers:

Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.

Other Microfilm Resources

History Resources on microfilm. This page gives you a list of Oregon, Washington, and Western U.S. primary documents available on microfilm at the UO Libraries Microforms Dept. Some of these collections have a print reference guide to help you locate what you need. These may be located in KNIGHT Reference, and should be mentioned in this list.

See this page for other Subject Guides to microforms that may be of interest, including: Native American Studies, Presidential Papers, and Census and Newspapers (already mentioned on this page, above.)