Research Guides: Music Theory: Articles

Trial Database Access

Trial Databases

Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software.

Trial Databases Includes the trial databases currently available, listed in alphabetical order.
Comments for Trial Databases Once you’ve used a trial database, you can provide the UO Libraries with valuable feedback which can help influence the Libraries to purchase full subscriptions to your favorite databases.

Install the VPN to use Trial Databases

Journals and Databases for Finding Music Theory Articles

The UO Libraries Music Collection subscribes to the following journals related to music theory research:

Music Theory Online: A Publication of the Society for Music Theory by Society for Music Theory
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1993-
Music Theory Spectrum by Bryan R. Simms, Society for Music Theory
Call Number: MT6 .M9622 (up to 2008) & Online Access
Publication Date: 1979-
Journal of Music Theory by Yale School of Music
Call Number: ML1 .J68 (1957-2006) & Online Access
Publication Date: 1957-
Indiana Theory Review by Indiana University, Bloomington,School of Music Graduate Theory Association
Call Number: MT6 .I52 & Online Access
Publication Date: 1977-
Physical holdings: v.12(1991) , v.14(1993)-v.23(2002) ,v.25(2004)-v.29(2011)
Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy by University of Oklahoma. School of Music, and Gail Boyd De Stwolinski Center for Music Theory Pedagogy
Call Number: ML1 .J682 & Online Access
Publication Date: 1987-
Physical holdings: v.1(1987)-v.14(2000), v.16(2002)-v.27(2013)
Music Analysis by Basil Blackwell
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1982-
Intégral by Eastman Theory Association, Eastman School of Music
Call Number: ML1 .I716 & Online Access
Publication Date: 1987-
Physical holdings: v.7(1993)-v.28/29(2014/2015)
Journal of the American Musicological Society by American Musicological Society
Call Number: ML27.U5 A83363 (up to 2007) & Online Access
Publication Date: 1948-

To find articles and dissertations related to music theory in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music