Research Guides: LING 211: Languages of the World (Daniels): Articles (Databases)

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Where to find journal articles

These databases are a good place to find peer-reviewed journal articles in the discipline of Linguistics. Some of these databases are also good places to find dissertations, conference papers, and other types of scholarly literature.

Some of the related databases may be suited to approaching your topic from a particular disciplinary angle (i.e. education, psychology, communication, etc.). Look at the description for each database to determine whether it might be appropriate for your research needs.

Linguistics

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.

ACL Anthology
The ACL (Association for Computational Linguistics) Anthology hosts papers on the study of computational linguistics and natural language processing.

Related Disciplines & Interdisciplinary Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education. Can be used to search for literature on second-language acquisition, language teaching, bilingualism/multilingualism, literacy, and more.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Database indexing psychology literature. May be useful for finding literature on language and cognition, psycholinguistics, and neurolinguistics among other topics.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Database indexing literature in fields of journalism, mass media, and communication. May be useful for finding literature at the intersection of communications and linguistics, including topics like sociolinguistics, language acquisition, and language teaching.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

LING 211: Languages of the World (Daniels)

Need Help?

Linguistics Librarian

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

Where to find journal articles

Linguistics

Related Disciplines & Interdisciplinary Databases