Research Guides: Landscape Architecture: Images

Image Resources

Image Resources Research Guide
This guide links to high quality image sources available for the University of Oregon community. It also offers resources to guide in the proper use of images and the management of personal image collections.

Databases for digital images of the built environment

The following resources are databases which provide digital images of the built environment. Some of these are part of the University of Oregon Libraries 'collections and some are available on the free web.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over one million high quality images of cultural objects and the built environment. Includes section on Gardens and Landscapes with 25,000+ images.
Art and Architecture Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital images of art, architecture, and other cultural objects acquired or digitized for use by the University of Oregon community. Includes images by UO landscape architecture historian Kenneth Helphand.

Google Images
Search engine accesses millions of images from a variety of sources. Includes a unique search by image feature. Good source for plans, sections, elevations, etc.
Building Oregon: Architecture of Oregon and the Pacific Northwest
Provides approximately 25,000 images with accompanying documentation about the architectural heritage of the Pacific Northwest with special emphasis on Oregon’s historic sites and built environment. A significant number of images come from slides donated to the UO Libraries. As a result of continuing collaboration with the Oregon State Historic Preservation Office, many items represent works listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Oregon Historic Sites Database
Database created by the Oregon State Historic Preservation Office provides PDF documentation of National Register sites as well as thousands of Oregon works listed in cultural resources inventories.

Digital Sanborn maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
Large-scale, detailed, black & white maps of 177 Oregon towns and cities, as well as municipalities in California, Washington, and Idaho
Originally created for fire insurance purposes, Sanborn maps have become a valuable tool for studying the history, growth, and development of cities, towns, and neighborhoods. Users can pan and zoom as well as download PDF versions of each sheet. The MAP Library also has paper versions of many of these maps.
Fire insurance maps online (FIMo) This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest online digital collection of color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, and similar land use maps for North America. Geographic coverage includes Oregon and Washington, and publishers include Sanborn, Nirenstein's National Realty Map Co., Baist, Kroll, and more.

Databases for finding images in periodicals

Many of the best images are not (yet) digital and can be found in periodicals. This is especially true of contemporary works and images details such as plans, sections, elevations, and site plans. These database are good for finding illustrative details and some enable searches narrowed by image type.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present day.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.