Research Guides: Jazz Pedagogy: Articles

Journals and Databases for Finding Jazz Pedagogy Articles

The UO Libraries Music Collection subscribes to the following print journals related to jazz education research:

NAJE Educator. by National Association of Jazz Educators
Call Number: ML1 .N3
Publication Date: vol. 5 (1972) - vol. 13 (1980)
Later Title: Jazz Educators Journal
Jazz Educators Journal by The National Association of Jazz Educators
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: vol. 13 (1980) - vol. 34 (2001)
Earlier Title: National Association of Jazz Educators. NAJE educator
Later Title: Jazz Education Journal
Jazz Education Journal. by International Association for Jazz Education.
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: vol. 34 (2001) - vol. 40 (2007)
Earlier Title: Jazz Educators Journal
Jazz Education Guide by JazzTimes
Call Number: MT68 .J39
Publication Date: 1988/1989 - 2014/2015

To find articles and dissertations related to jazz pedagogy in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL