Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Interior Architecture

Recommended resources for researching interior architecture topics.

Citation Guides

These guides assist you in properly formatting the citations to articles, books, images, etc., you find in databases and elsewhere.  There are several commonly used styles.  Different disciplines or classes might have preferences.  The citation-making feature of database providers may not always be reliable.

Citation Management Resources

Citation management (or bibliographic management) tools enable you to save citations, sort them, and output them in different ways.  

For additional information or to get help with these citation management tools, visit http://researchguides.uoregon.edu/citing-plagiarism/citationtools.

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a list of sources (books, articles, websites, images, etc.) with their complete citation information plus an annotation. Here are the elements of an annotated bibliography:

Citation - All of the elements needed for your citation style (MLA, Chicago, etc) such as author/creator name, titles, creation date, publisher. (See the specific style information on this page for more about citations.)

Annotation - the annotation, depending on your needs or the assignment specifications can include:

  • Summary: Summarize the source including main points, arguments, and topics covered. For some projects it may be helpful to include a physical description as well such types of images included.
  • Assessment: Evaluate the source in terms of its reliability, quality of the arguments made, whether it is objective or biased, and what the goal of the source is.
  • Application: How the source relates to your research including its value to your project, how it relates to your argument, and what benefit it gives to your work.

If you are unsure which elements your annotated bibliography should include, refer to your assignment guide or consult your professor.

TIP! Annotated bibliographies can also be a really great tool for keeping track of your research, especially for sources you may use in more than one project. They help you remember what an article was about and also help make decisions about how to prioritize what you read.

Design Library Help

Chat Email Phone Text

Citation Styles: Chicago, MLA, APA

Your professor may require that you use a specific citation or bibliography format, or they may let you choose as long as you consistently use the same style throughout an assignment. Below are the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) links for the most popular citation styles.

Citation Styles: Digging Deeper

If you can't find what you need in Purdue OWL, go straight to the source with the resources listed below.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift