AAA Shared Instruction Boxes

Scientists and science professionals have to stay up-to-date with the literature that gets published in their field. Sharing information through publishing is central to a scientist's work.

"[T]he credit for a scientific discovery is awarded not to the scientist who discovers a phenomenon but to the scientist who publishes its discovery first" (Writing in the Sciences: Exploring Conventions of Scientific Discourse, Penrose and Katz, 10).

This suggests that you should use all the tools available to stay on top of new information. Below are some of the main ways scientists stay current.

(Click to Enlarge Image)

Long description of "How Scientists Stay Current" infographic for web accessibility

For more information, check out these resources:

Many databases include an alert feature that you can set up for various criteria. The alert can be for a citation, author, table of contents (TOC), or general topic of interest. The database will automatically be searched for the latest records matching your criteria. Then, the database will send you updated results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, but the process is more or less the same. Set up alerts by following these general steps: 

1. Search using search terms and filters;

2. Save the search as an alert; then

3. Give your alert a name and select frequency and/or method of delivery (e.g. email alert).

For more help, click the links below or look for the "Help" menu in your database.

BrowZine alerts are available for iOS and Android devices. See the BrowZine guide for more information:

Many databases include an alert feature that you can set up for various criteria. The alert can be for a citation, author, table of contents (TOC), or general topic of interest. The database will automatically be searched for the latest records matching your criteria. Then, the database will send you updated results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, but the process is more or less the same. Set up alerts by following these general steps: 

1. Search using search terms and filters;

2. Save the search as an alert; then

3. Give your alert a name and select frequency and/or method of delivery (e.g. email alert).

For more help, click the links below or look for the "Help" menu in your database.

BrowZine alerts are available for iOS and Android devices. See the BrowZine guide for more information:

Many databases include an alert feature that you can set up for various criteria. The alert can be for a citation, author, table of contents (TOC), or general topic of interest. The database will automatically be searched for the latest records matching your criteria. Then, the database will send you updated results by e-mail or RSS feed. 

Different databases will have different procedures for setting up search alerts, but the process is more or less the same. Set up alerts by following these general steps: 

1. Search using search terms and filters;

2. Save the search as an alert; then

3. Give your alert a name and select frequency and/or method of delivery (e.g. email alert).

For more help, click the links below or look for the "Help" menu in your database.

BrowZine alerts are available for iOS and Android devices. See the BrowZine guide for more information: