Bar-Yitshak, Hayah, and Patai, Raphael. Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions. London: Routledge, 2015.
Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica, 2006.
Doniger, Wendy. Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions. Chicago, IL: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., 2006.
The Cambridge Companion to German Romanticism. Edited by Nicholas Saul. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Cuddon, J. A. Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory. 5. Aufl. Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Encyclopaedia Britannica ; or, a Dictionary of Arts, Sciences, and Miscellaneous Literature on a Plan Entirely New. ... Dublin: Printed by James Moore, 1790. Includes: Encyclopaedia Britannica
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales. Edited by Donald Haase. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press, 2008.
Jobes, Gertrude. Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1961. [Print and Online in HathiTrust]
Jones, Lindsay. Encyclopedia of Religion. 2nd ed. Farmington Hills: Cengage Gale, 2004.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales. Edited by Jack Zipes. Second edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2015.
Oxford English Dictionary. Oxford, England: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Putzi-Ortiz, Sibylla. A to Z World Superstitions and Folklore 175 Countries : Spirit Worship, Curses, Mystical Characters, Folk Tales, Burial and the Dead, Animals, Food, Marriage, Good Luck, Bad Luck, Totems and Amulets and Ancestor Spirits. Petaluma: World Trade Press, 2009.
Schreiber, Mordecai. The Shengold Jewish Encyclopedia. Edited by Mordecai Schreiber. Fiftieth anniversary edition. Rockville, Maryland: Schreiber Publishing, 2007.
Skolnik, Fred, and Berenbaum, Michael. Encyclopaedia Judaica. 2nd ed. Farmington Hills, Mich: Thomson Gale, 2007.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Stanford, Calif: Stanford University, 1997.
UXL Encyclopedia of World Mythology. Detroit, Mich: UXL, 2009.
Lüthi, Max, Lee Chadeayne, Paul Gottwald, and Francis Lee Utley. Once Upon a Time : on the Nature of Fairy Tales. Translated by Lee Chadeayne and Paul Gottwald. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1976.
Propp, V. I︠A︡. (Vladimir I︠A︡kovlevich), Laurence Scott, Svatava Pírková-Jakobsonová, Louis A. Wagner, and Alan Dundes. Morphology of the Folktale. Translated by Laurence Scott. Second edition, revised and edited with a preface by Louis A. Wagner [and a] new introduction by Alan Dundes. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1968.
Todorov, Tzvetan. The Fantastic : a Structural Approach to a Literary Genre. Cleveland: Press of Case Western Reserve University, 1973.
Grimm, Jacob, Wilhelm Grimm, Moriz Heyne, Rudolf Hildebrand, Matthias Lexer, and F. L. K. (Friedrich Ludwig Karl) Weigand. Deutsches Wörterbuch. Leipzig: S. Hirzel, 1854.
Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jakob und Wilhelm Grimm avail via
Hederich, Benjamin. Gründliches mythologisches Lexikon. Darmstadt: Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft, 1967. (Print)
Gründliches mythologisches Lexikon von Benjamin Hederich (1770) Online
Baldick, Chris. The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 3rd ed. Oxford ;: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Booker, M. Keith. Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2010.
The Cambridge History of Literary Criticism. Cambridge [England] ;: Cambridge University Press, 1989.
Clements, William M. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2006.
Isenberg, Noah William. Weimar Cinema : an Essential Guide to Classic Films of the Era. New York: Columbia University Press, 2009.
Green, Thomas A. Folklore : an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
Hayward, Susan. Cinema Studies. 4th ed. Hoboken: Taylor and Francis, 2012.
Konzett, Matthias. Encyclopedia of German Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000.
Leeming, David Adams, and Marion. Sader. Storytelling Encyclopedia : Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World. Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1997.
Mitcham, Carl. Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics. Detroit, Michigan: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature. Oxford ;: Oxford University Press, 2006.
Paulin, Roger. From Goethe to Gundolf : Essays on German Literature and Culture. Cambridge: Open Book Publishers, 2021.
Propp, V. I͡A. (Vladimir I͡Akovlevich), and Anatoly. Liberman. Theory and History of Folklore. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1984.
Rosenberg, Bruce A., and Mary Ellen Brown. Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature. Santa Barbara, Calif: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Seed, David. A Companion to Science Fiction. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2005.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
