Digital Maps & Mapping

Links to the download interface for the United States National Map, operated by the United States Geological Survey (USGS). From the national map you can download elevation data, as well as other data such as land cover, hydrography, and transportation.

The TopoView web site, hosted by the United States Geological Survey (USGS), provides a repository for older, historical topographic maps covering various spatial extents across the United States. TopoView is different from The National Map, which has present-day topographic maps. File formats now being offered through TopoView include GeoTIFF, JPEG, and KMZ.

Links to the United States Geological Survey (USGS) Historical Topographic Map Collection, which includes all scales and all editions of the more than 175,000 topographic maps published by USGS since its inception of the topographic mapping program in 1882. You can explore these maps online by finding and zooming to an area of interest and clicking on the map. Then use the timeline to explore different maps and scales. Use the Slider to transition between different historic maps, and Download or Share the maps.

Operated by the United States Geological Survey, the goal of the National Geologic Map Database (NGMDB) is to build a national archive of high quality, standardized geologic maps and related geoscience reports for the United States. From this web site you can search over 100,000 products by accessing the Map Catalog, use the interactive MapView interface to find geologic maps, or link to TopoView to access the Historical Topographic Map Collection.

Links to the National Flood Hazard Layer, an interactive geospatial database operated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) that contains current effective flood hazard data for the United States. FEMA provides the flood hazard data to support the National Flood Insurance Program. You can use the information to better understand your level of flood risk. From the NFHL Viewer, you may view, download, and print flood maps for your location.

Links to the EnviroMapper web site, operated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). EnviroMapper provides access to several EPA databases containing information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land quality anywhere in the United States. With the EnviroMapper, you can learn more about these environmental activities in any defined location and generate maps of environmental information.

Links to the Active Fire Mapping Program, an operational, satellite-based fire detection and monitoring program managed by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service Geospatial Technology and Applications Center (RSAC). The Active Fire Mapping program provides near real-time detection and characterization of wildland fire conditions in a geospatial context for the continental United States, Alaska, Hawaii and Canada.

The AirNow web site is a joint project by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Park Service, tribal, state, and local agencies to provide the public with easy access to national air quality information. State and local agencies report the air quality index (AQI) for cities across the US and parts of Canada and Mexico. Map and forecast data are collected using federal reference or equivalent monitoring techniques or techniques approved by the state, local or tribal monitoring agencies. To maintain "real-time" maps, the data are displayed after the end of each hour.

Provides a link to the United States Geological Survey (USGS) Earthquake Hazards web site, where you can view maps of the latest earthquakes on Earth, as well as view and acquire historic earthquake maps and data.

Links to the United States National Weather Service Weather Prediction Center web site, where you can download weekly weather maps and forecast charts. Historical maps since the early 2000's can also be accessed from the Product Archive.

Links to the United States National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) Water and Climate Center web page containing map products covering the western United States for precipitation, snow, and temperature data.

Links to the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection. This collection provides maps covering the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). Images, provided in JPEG file format, are free to download and may be used for commercial or educational purposes. Although not required, users are encouraged to cite "NOAA's Historical Map & Chart Collection" when using any image(s).

This web site, hosted by United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), provides navigation charts for US Waters. This includes coasts and large, navigable inland lakes and rivers. The maps are available in a variety of formats, such as PDFs that can be downloaded and printed, Raster Navigational Charts available in BSB format, and official Electronic Navigational Charts (ENCs) available in S-57 format that are used in ECDIS and in electronic charting systems.

This web site provides further links to many interactive maps and tools hosted by the United States Census Bureau, such as the Census Data Mapper, Interactive Population Map, and Data Visualization Gallery.

Links to the Social Explorer map viewer main page. Social Explorer allows you to visualize and interact with data, create maps, charts, reports and downloads that help you reach your goals. You can explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. You can also add your own data. At the University of Oregon you can use Social Explorer as a guest, but to use Social Explorer remotely, save, or share projects, you will need to create a personal account.

Links to the United States Library of Congress historic map collections that have been made digital and freely downloadable in a variety of image file formats.

Links to a map collection hosted by the University of Texas Libraries, which has online maps of current and general interest, as well as historical maps at united states, continental, global, and most all country scales. This collection has extensive holdings for both thematic and topographic maps.

This data viewer allows you to see historical records of the Home Owners' Loan Corporation using more than 150 interactive maps and thousands of "area descriptions." These materials afford an extraordinary view of the contours of wealth and racial inequality in Depression-era American cities and insights into discriminatory policies and practices that so profoundly shaped cities that we feel their legacy to this day.

Links to an interactive web mapper that uses digital map data along with other resource information to produce current information on the status, extent, characteristics and functions of wetlands, riparian, and deepwater habitats.

This interactive map viewer, hosted by the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, allows you to view information about all known and registered wind turbines in the United States.