Research Guides: Composition: Recordings

Finding UO Recital Recordings

Looking for recordings of degree recitals by UO students? Use the Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch, and search the name of the performer (if you know it), or try the phrase "University of Oregon degree recitals" in the title field to see all recordings.

CDs of UO recital recordings from the past five years are available for checkout in the Douglass Room on the 3rd floor of Knight Library. Recordings older than five years are archived in Special Collections and University Archives on the 2nd floor of Knight Library.

Finding recordings in the UO collection

Finding Recordings at UO

To find recordings by a specific conductor, use the Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch. Search the name of the conductor as author/creator, select "Audio & Video" as the material type, and select "UO Libraries" or "Music Collection" as the search scope.

You can also search for the composer and title of a composition. If the composition has an opus number or other type of composer number (such as BWV for Bach or K. for Mozart), search for that as the title-- this is particularly useful for searching for works with genre- or form-based titles such as concertos and sonatas, where you might get a lot of results for things you don't want if you just search the composer and title alone.

Streaming Audio Databases

See the Audio tab in the main Music Research Guide for a list of our streaming audio databases.

The following streaming video and audio databases are of particular interest to composers:

Digital concert hall This link opens in a new window
Watch performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker streamed in high definition, on your TV, computer, tablet, or smartphone. About 40 concerts are broadcast each season, including symphonic performances, chamber music, choral music, childrens educational programming, and dance performances. Viewers can stream them live in real time or watch them later via the concert video archive. The archive also contains hundreds of past concerts with all the great artists of classical music, as well as documentaries and bonus films.
DRAM This link opens in a new window
Streaming music recordings, including streaming audio, liner notes, and essays from important labels like New World Records, Composers Recordings, and others. Covers a wide range of music genres and performers.
Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music and dance databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound. Includes streaming audio and video recordings of classical, popular, and world music, opera, and many styles of dance, as well as select full text from key print resources on world and African American music.
Naxos Music LIbrary This link opens in a new window
Streaming audio access to large collection of CD-length recordings. Includes Classical, Jazz, World, Classic Rock, and Nostalgia music.
The online access includes program notes, cover artwork, tracklist, instrumentation and publisher information, libretti and synopses of more than 700 operas. Naxos Music Library features the complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 770 labels such as BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, CSO Resound, Decca, Deutsche Grammophon, Erato, Dynamic, Finlandia, Grand Piano, Hnssler Classic, Harmonia Mundi, Hungaroton, LSO Live, Marco Polo, Nave, Naxos, New York Philharmonic, Nimbus, Nonesuch, Ondine, Orfeo, PentaTone, RCA Records, Sony Classical, Teldec, Universal Classics, Vanguard Classics, Warner Classics, Warner Classics - Parlophone (former EMI Classics) and many more.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music