Research Guides: JCOM 302 Communication Law : JCOM 302: Communication Law

How to Use This Guide

Find the resources you need by selecting the options in the menu.

Please keep in mind that most significant legal resources are at the Law School Library, including trained reference help, but this guide lists other online research tools that you can consult.

For more specific research help or any questions you might have, please email me at tpaz@uoregon.edu

Where to Start

If you're not sure where to start with your research, you might want to check out the resources below first:

Sage Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society (Must use VPN for off-campus access)

Debra L. Merskin (Editor)

International Encyclopedia of Communication
This online encyclopedia has articles on various legal topics, including libel (defamation), freedom of the press, and copyright.
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment
Covers the political, cultural, and historical significance of the First Amendment. Entries include citations to important court cases and a brief bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Journalism
Reference resource with entries covering a variety of journalism topics.

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties
Call Number: Knight Library Reference (KF4748 .E53 2006)
Publication Date: 2006
This encyclopedia of over 600 entries covers the full range of civil rights and liberties in America, from the antecedents of the Bill of Rights through the most recent controversies over political and social issues, including abortion, free speech, religious liberty, voting rights, and the guarantees of equality.
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society by Robin Mansell (Editor); Peng Hwa Ang (Editor)
Call Number: Knight Library Reference (TK5103.7 .I567 2015)
Publication Date: 2015
The International Encyclopedia of Digital Communication and Society offers critical assessments of theoretical and applied research on digitally-mediated communication, a central area of study in the 21st century. * Examines topics with unprecedented breadth and depth, with the aim of bringing together international and interdisciplinary perspectives * Organized in an accessible A-Z format with over 150 entries on key topics ranging from 2,000 to 10,000 words * Addresses a full range of topics including digitally-mediated social media, commercial applications and online gaming, to law and policy analysis and information and communication technologies for development * Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association

You can also check out books on First Amendment issues, which are located in the Knight Library on the 3rd Floor in the KF 4770 call number area. There are many more books on this topic in the Law Library.

Related Guides

Law - United States, General
by Kelly Reynolds Last Updated May 9, 2024 259 views this year
Journalism and Communication
by Talia Paz Last Updated Oct 16, 2024 2372 views this year

Need Help?

SOJC Librarian

Talia Paz

Email Me

Subjects: Journalism & Communication, News