Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies

REEES

Using Archives & Libraries in the Former Soviet Union

University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections

Clarence Leroy Andrews papers, 1900-1948
Manuscripts also included is Andrews' monumental but never-published translation work, The Life of Baranof. This is made up of a biography of Baranof, his and others' letters, and a history of the Kodiak Mission, all translated from Russian by Andrews. Andrews' table of contents for the work is filed in box 2, folder 65. The introduction to The Life of Baranof, in folder 2/65 and 2/66 is placed at the end of the work because Andrews apparently did not include it for publication. Research for the work and related correspondence follow the introduction folders. Of the article length manuscripts, Robert Kennicott may have been published. There is no indication whether or not any of the others were published. The subjects of most, if not all, of Andrews' manuscripts are Alaska and Eskimos. Approximately 1,500 photographs are included in the Photographs series.

Verne Bright papers, 1899-1975
Outgoing correspondence is organized chronologically, 1910; 1918; 1955-1957 and includes over 200 letters. The outgoing correspondence includes sixty-four letters from Bright, 1918-1919, when he was an infantryman in the A.E.F., written from Vancouver Barracks, Washington, Ft. McDowell, California, Ft. William McKinley, Philippines, and Vladivostok, Siberia. Most of them are to Mrs. C. E. Barker of Beaverton, Oregon. There is also a section of fan letters.

Jerome Davis papers, 1914-1963
Jerome Davis was an international activist for peace and social reform, labor organizer, and sociologist, who taught at Dartmouth and Yale Divinity School. The collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, lectures and conference documents, biographical material, diaries, publications and photographs.

John  Frederick Finerty papers, 1910-1961
General files consist of documents and correspondence, most concerned with civil liberties cases. There is a file of American Civil Liberties Union material on the exclusion of minority parties from the ballot in certain states, 1940-1942. Finerty was special counsel to the Commission of Inquiry into the charges made against Leon Trotsky in the Moscow Trials, 1937. The papers include transcripts and statements of this commission.

Emmett W. Gulley papers, 1950-1956
The collection contains correspondence, administrative papers, articles, essays, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings regarding the Doukhobors and Gulley's mediation work, and a scrapbook that contains photographs of Doukhobors. Correspondence is separated into an outgoing and incoming sections. The incoming section is arranged alphabetically by sender's last name or organizational title. Included are fourteen letters from different Doukhobor groups.There is also a scrapbook that contains photographs of Doukhobors. A bound copy of the report titled, "Report of the Doukhobor Research Committee, 1952" is also included. Other material includes a copy of Gulley's autobiography, articles and essays, newspaper clippings about Doukhobors, publications, and business papers.

Leo Huberman papers, 1937-1968
Leo Huberman (1903-1968) was a prolific writer on labor and Marxist issues who also taught labor and economic history, and founded the PM newspaper and Monthly Review magazine. The collection contains manuscripts, professional and personal papers, court case information and publications. Author of: "50 years of Soviet power."

Grace Hutchins papers, 1902-1968
Collection contains correspondence, literary manuscripts, genealogical materials, and photographs. Much of the materials relate to Hutchins labor work, her international travels, the Sacco and Vanzetti case, and the Whittaker Chambers case. Some letters were written in Russia between 1926-1927.

Eugene Lyons papers, 1933-1967
Collection comprises book manuscripts and correspondence of Eugene Lyons, a Rusian-born journalist and writer who was a student of Soviet affairs and communism. Manuscripts are primarily of published works, such as Assignment in Utopia and Our secret allies, as well as biographies of Herbert Hoover and David Sarnoff. Correspondence includes four folders of letters from prominent people, such as Semyon Budenni (a hero of the Russian revolution), Cecil B. DeMille, Lewis Gannett, Sir Winston Churchill, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Herbert Hoover, Sinclair Lewis, Upton Sinclair, Joseph Stalin, and Harry Truman. Collection also includes an original corrected copy of Lyons' interview with Joseph Stalin dated November 22, 1930 and signed by Stalin.

Michael A. Meyendorff papers, 1861-1908
Michael A. Meyendorff (1849-1908) was a Polish revolutionary (in Russia), later an exile living in the United States. He was released to the United States through government intercession in 1866. The collection contains personal and official correspondence (some in Russian), scrapbooks, an autobiographical manuscript, and estate papers.

Henry B. Miller papers, 1898-1908
The collection also contains consular letters and reports regarding Port Arthur, Russian influence in the Pacific, and relations between Russia and China. The collection also contains photographs that were removed from their original placement in the collection and stored separately for preservation reasons, under the call number PH234. Photographs include portraits (possibly of Miller as an older man), pictures from China during the Boxer Rebellion (1898-1901), a performance at a Japanese Odori, and a photograph of "Japanese Frank," the interpreter for the Chicago Daily News; the other name printed on the portrait is: Matsutaro, Todani.

Harold Joyce Noble papers, 1918-1948
Material within the collection includes: minutes of the 7th, 8th, and 9th meetings of the American Red Cross, Japan Chapter, in Tokyo, on June 26, July 16, and September 6, of 1918. Also includes copies of reports by Bishop Herbert Welch to R. S. Curtice, Seoul, Korea, on conditions at Harbin, 1918; records, including letters, documents, copies of reports, and telegrams, of H. J. Noble as chairman of the Russian Refugee Relief Committee (Foreign) in Seoul, Korea, 1922-1923; documents relating to Korean affairs in 1946, and the American occupation of Japan in 1947. The documents originate from when Noble was foreign correspondent for the Saturday Evening Post in 1946, and chief of the Publications Branch, Civil Intelligence Section, G.H.Q., Far East Command, Tokyo, 1947-1948.

Floyd Cleveland Ramp papers, 1874-1979
Consists of diaries of student days at the University of Oregon, 1905-1909, and his visit to Russia; letters from Leavenworth, journal notes and other documents relating to his arrest, trial and incarceration; general and family correspondence, including that of his father, Benjamin F. Ramp from Alaska, 1897-1898; Socialist and Communist Party materials; speeches; audio tapes of interviews with Ramp; and photographs of Russia. Socialist and communist of Roseburg, Oregon who was arrested under the Espionage Act in 1917, and later visited Russia from 1920 to 1922 where he inspected homes for displaced children and managed a collective farm.

Kaye M. Teall papers, 1964-1967
Kaye Moulton Teall was a free-lance writer and television teacher, and was represented by the Lenniger Literary Agency. The collection (1964-1967) includes manuscripts of From Tsars to Commissars: The Story of the Russian Revolution, published by Messner, in 1966. Manuscript material includes an original typed version with edits, and a final draft with printer's corrections. The collection also includes a published copy of the book. Other material includes notes and fragments for unknown works. There is also correspondence (1964-1966) with Edith Margolis of Lenniger Literary Agency, and also with Julian Messner, Inc.

Anne Terry White papers, 1961-1968
Anne Terry White (1896-1980) was born in Ukraine (then Russia). Throughout her life she has been a teacher, social worker, editor of Young Citizen, and writer for Social Security Board. Collection comprises correspondence, literary manuscripts, and foreign language translations by author, editor, and translator Anne Terry White.

Jules Archer papers, 1947-1977
Collection consists of an extensive collection of book manuscripts, articles, short stories, article ideas, outlines, research materials, and correspondence covering a time span from the 1940s through the 1970s. The General correspondence series includes a large quantity of material from his agent, the August Lenniger Literary Agency, as well as correspondence from Archer's many publishers, including Julian Messner, Crowell, and Hawthorn Books. Also included are a number of acceptance and rejection letters. The Literary works series contains materials relating to full-length books that were published. Included are various manuscripts, preliminary drafts, research notes, galley proofs, printers' copies, page proofs, and various production notes. The Articles ideas and outlines series includes that material as well as research materials and correspondence from potential markets. Also included in the collection is a small series of black and white photographs from Archer's book, Epidemic.

Lee and Robert Wyndham papers, 1927-1978
Collection comprises papers relating to writers Lee and Robert Wyndham. Included are incoming and outgoing correspondence, manuscripts, published works, lecture notes, periodicals containing Wyndham contributions, and miscellaneous items. Correspondents include Phyllis A. Whitney, Judy Blume, and Jane Yolen. Manuscripts include Dance to my measure; The lost birthday present; Geronimo; and Family at Seven Chimneys House; all by Lee Wyndham, and Chinese Mother Goose rhymes; by Robert Wyndham.

Benjamin Appel papers, 1931-1973
Collection consists primarily of handwritten manuscripts, galleys and publishers' proofs of Benjamin Appel's most widely known novels. Also included are copies of short stories and source materials and research notes. This is especially true for the novel the Dark stain, which includes an extensive collection of newspaper clippings dealing with race in America from both black newspapers as well as more mainstream white papers.

Ruth Epperson Kennell papers, 1915-1970
Collection comprises manuscripts of books, short stories, screenplays, and articles by American author and socialist Ruth Epperson Kennell, as well as her correspondence, diaries, and photographs. From 1922 to 1932, Kennell lived in Russia, where she worked at the American colony Kuzbas in Siberia, served as secretery and guide to Theodore Dreiser, and acted as Russian correspondent for several American periodicals. The collection includes correspondence, articles, and an autobiographical account in which Kennell recounts this period of her life, describes the social and political conditions of post-revolutionary Russia, and discusses the emancipation of women from confining sex roles. Major correspondents include Thodore Dreiser, H.L. Mencken, and Pearl S. Buck.

Leonard Everett Fisher papers, 1936-1969
Collection consists of nine series. With the exception of letters to family, the correspondence is primarily incoming letters. Manuscripts include A head full of hats and the Colonial American series written by Fisher. Speeches include those presented and written by Fisher. Production notes include the various works that Fisher collaborated upon with other authors. Also included are photographs, audio recordings, miscellaneous materials, and oversized illustrations.

 

 

 

 

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift