Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Women, Gender, and Sexuality in Special Collections

This guide offers brief descriptions of relevant Women in Society collections. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist.

Related Guides

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Women Artists and Architects | SCUA Collections Documenting Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Women, Gender, and Sexuality, including Women’s Back to the Land movement, women linguists focusing on gender issues in language, women who have affected the political process and cultural landscape.

Gerke, Frances Holmes (1896-1964).

Finding aid

In the Walter and Frances Holmes Gerke Papers. 1934-1946. 0.5 cubic feet.
Walter and Frances Holmes Gerke were architects from 1924 to 1964 who founded the Oregon Society of Landscape Architects. The collection includes landscape architectural drawings of Oregon projects and drawings for the Bonneville Power navigation project and the Dammasch State Hospital.
(Coll. 144)

Holberg, Ruth Langland (1889-1984).

Finding aid

Papers. 1923-1972. 6 ft.
Ruth Holberg was an author of books for juveniles, a poet, and a painter. Her papers include manuscripts, research notes, correspondence, a 1923 diary of her European travels, an journal from the late 1920s and early 1930s, and photographs.
(Coll. 179)

Hyman, Trina Schart (b. 1939).

Finding aid

Papers. 1965-1981. 6.9 cubic ft.
An author and leading illustrator of children\'s books, Hyman won the Boston Globe Horn Book Award and a Caldecott Honor. She has served as both an art director and a staff artist for Cricket magazine. Her papers include illustrations and some texts for children\'s books; greeting cards and fable cards designed by Hyman; and miscellaneous artwork.
(Coll. 65)

Jones, Elizabeth Orton (1910-1979).

Papers. 1925-1968. 5 ft.
Elizabeth Orton Jones is an artist, writer, and illustrator of children\'s books. The papers include correspondence, original illustrations, 38 prints using drypoint with aquatint, book dummies, and a scrapbook about her illustrations for Rachel Field\'s Prayer for a Child (New York, 1944).
(Coll. 200)

Lord & Schryver.

Finding aid

Architectural Records. 1929-1970. 21 cubic feet.
Elizabeth Lord and Edith (Nina) Schryver designed gardens in both Oregon and Washington. The records include landscaping plans and drawings, correspondence, and other professional material.
(Coll. 98)

Newberry, Clare Turlay (1903-1970).

Finding aid

Papers. 1910-1969. 3 ft.
Clare Turlay Newberry was a portraitist, artist and illustrator of children\'s books. Her papers include original drawings, book dummies, and scrapbooks from her childhood and early days.
(Ax 681)

Schryver, Edith.

See Lord & Schryver.

Sweetser, Carrie K. (1863-1952).

Watercolors. 339 paintings.
Carrie K. Sweetser was a botanical painter and the wife of the head of the University of Oregon Department of Botany. The paintings are of natural size and record the minutes details of the color and formation of flowers.
(Coll. 237)

Tee-Van, Helen Damrosch (1893-1976).

Finding aid

Papers. 1900-1969. 6 ft.
Helen Damrosch Tee-Van was an artist for the New York Zoological Society from 1922 to 1963, and an author-illustrator of natural history books. The collection includes drawings from scientific expeditions, original illustrations and manuscripts, and 26 sketchbooks, 1900 to 1929.
(Ax 715)

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

  • Oregon history, politics, culture
  • Authors and illustrators of children’s books
  • The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
  • Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
  • Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
  • Labor History
  • Journalism and Communications
  • Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
  • Environmental history
  • Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
  • Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
  • Utopian and intentional communities
  • Northwest architecture
  • Northwest economic history
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift