Research Guides: PS 477/577: International Environmental Politics: Legal Sources

Legal Sources

Background and Reference

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law "This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive information on international law." Alphabetically arranged entries... offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: Legal terms as used in international law; Significant doctrines; Prominent cases, decisions and arbitration; Important incidents; Treaties and conventions; Organizations and institutions; Acronyms
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009

The two databases below are part of the larger Oxford Public International Law collection. Note that UO does not have access to the other databases in this collection.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.
Written and edited by an incomparable team of over 800 scholars and practitioners, published in partnership with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, and updated throughout the year, this major reference work is essential for anyone researching or teaching international law.
Oxford Reports on International Law Current coverage of public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Case reports contain the full text of each decision, headnote, as well as analytical commentary and English translations of a number of key non-English decisions.

Treaties and Conventions

International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database Project This link opens in a new window
Lists of international environmental treaties, conventions, and other agreements with links to text, membership, performance data, secretariat, and summary statistics.
Over 1100 multilaterals, 1500 bilaterals, and 250 "other". Grouped by Date, Subject, and "Lineage" of legally-related agreements (e.g., those related to the Montreal Protocol).
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Digitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.

United Nations Treaty Collection

Law Reviews and Journals

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Digitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text This link opens in a new window Indexes legal periodicals from the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and other countries from 1982 to the present. Full text of some articles from 1994 to the present, and also links to articles available in HeinOnline.
Many of the indexed journals are also available in print at the John E. Jaqua Law Library. For indexing prior to 1982, select Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window