Research Guides: Oregon Digital: Collections

What's in Oregon Digital?

Oregon Digital contains more than 100 collections and over 400,000 items. A full list of all collections is available on the Collections List page.

Some collections are available only to UO and OSU students, faculty and staff only due to copyright restrictions. To access these collections, users need to be on campus or connected to the campus network through a Virtual Private Network at either UO or OSU.

Here are some places to begin your search:

African Studies and History

African Political Ephemera and Realia Project Collection of ephemeral material—pamphlets, t-shirts, cloths, posters, to name just a few examples—that documents the material culture of politics in Sub-Saharan Africa.
Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).

Agriculture, Botany and Food Sciences

Lichens of the Pacific Northwest Photos as a companion to the book by Bruce McCune, Microlichens of the Pacific Northwest (2017. Two volumes. Wild Blueberry Media, Corvallis).
Oregon's Agricultural Progress Oregon's Agricultural Progress magazine is a report to the taxpayers of Oregon from Oregon State University's Agricultural Experiment Station demonstrating the ways in which agriculture contributes to the economy, environment, and social structure of Oregon and the world.
Oregon Century Farm and Ranch Program The Oregon Century Farm and Ranch Program was established in 1958 by the Oregon Historical Society, just prior to Oregon’s 1959 statehood centennial, to honor farm and ranch families with century-long connections to the land and to recognize Oregon’s rich agricultural heritage.
Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives Images, publications, and textual documents related to the history of hops and brewing in Oregon.
The OSU Herbarium Type Specimens Collection Contains 2000 type specimens in OSU's collection, with the original descriptions (known as protologues) of the 1350 plant taxa represented by these specimens.

American Studies and History

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Doris Ulmann (1882-1934) photographs, 1920s-1934 A collection of photographs documenting the Appalachian folk arts and crafts for Allen Eaton’s 1937 book, Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands.
Frazier A. Boutelle photographs, c. 1865-1924 Photographs from US Army officer Boutelle's career: military scenes of the Indian Wars from 1870s to 1890s, images from the Philippines from 1898 to 1899, and the Yellowstone area 1889–1890.
Gerald W. Williams Collection The collected historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service.
Grayson Mathews (1948-2007) photographs, 1970s-1990s Photos of the American West, 1971-1972, Klamath Falls, Oregon and documentation of the natural and human transformation of the Klamath Basin landscape.
Historic Sheet Music Collection A selection of images from the collections of printed sheet music held by the Music Services Department and in the Oregon Collection of Special Collections & University Archives.
National Japanese American Student Relocation Council records, 1942-1946 UO records relating to the National Japanese American Student Relocation Council, created by university administrators as a means of relocating Japanese American college students to other universities and colleges away from the West coast during World War II.
Oregon Multicultural Archives Images that document the lives and activities of ethnic minorities in Oregon.
Oregon State Yank The Oregon State Yank was edited and published by Oregon State College alumnae, Elaine Kollins Sewell and Jane Steagall, to share news of service activities of alumni serving in World War II and provide campus news to alumni.
OSU's WWII Era Japanese American Students Collection of documents about Japanese American Students of OSU during WWII.
OSU Special Collection & Archives Research Center All Oregon Digital items that have been digitized out of the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center (SCARC).
UO Veterans The UO Veterans Oral History Project consists of interviews with both veterans and active duty service men and women.

Animal Studies, Zoology and Veterinary Medicine

1993 ODFW Oregon Rocky Shore Aerial Photographer Survey Aerial survey of Oregon’s intertidal zone created for two primary reasons: assess kelp stocks and document Snowy Plover habitat.
Pacific Northwest Stream Survey Collection comprises 1000+ photographs taken between 1934 and 1945 by the U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Fisheries.
Reuniting Finley and Bohlman Materials gathered by biologist William Lovell Finley and Herman T. Bohlman representing over fifty years (1899-1946) of work to document and protect the diversity of bird life in Oregon.

Anthropology, Folklore, Ethnography

Braceros in Oregon Photograph Collection Archival photograph collection of the Braceros that worked in the agricultural fields and orchards of Oregon, 1942-1947.
C. L. Andrews photographs, 1880s-1948 Documentation on native life, natural resources, and exploration of Alaska and the Yukon.
Corazon de Dixie: Mexicanos in the U.S. South since 1920 Comprised of primary source documents cited in Julie M. Weise's book and additional relevant documents unique to the site, this collection includes census records, archival documents, photographs, and articles related to Latino immigration and Mexicanos in the southern United States from 1910–2012.
Doris Ulmann (1882-1934) photographs, 1920s-1934 A collection of photographs documenting the Appalachian folk arts and crafts for Allen Eaton’s 1937 book, Handicrafts of the Southern Highlands.
Historic Sheet Music Collection A selection of images from the collections of printed sheet music held by the Music Services Department and in the Oregon Collection of Special Collections & University Archives.
Northwest Folklife Digital Collection A collection of images documenting the customary beliefs, social practices, and material traits of cultural, religious, occupational, and ethnic groups throughout Oregon and the Northwest.
Opal S. Whiteley (1897-1992) photographs Oregon native author and speaker who studied biology and professed harmony with nature in her book, The Fairyland Around Us (Los Angeles, 1918). Whitely was raised in a logging camp in Lane County, Oregon, and later published a poetic diary, The Story of Opal, purportedly written during her childhood.
Randall V. Mills Transportation Collection (1907-1952) photographs, ca. 1937-1952 The collection features photographs pertaining to transportation in the Pacific Northwest and folklore.
UO Veterans The UO Veterans Oral History Project consists of interviews with both veterans and active duty service men and women.

Art, Architecture, Archaeology and Museum Studies

Angelus Studio photographs, 1880s-1940s The Angelus Studio collection provides extraordinary documentation of the city of Portland, the Lewis & Clark Exposition of 1905, Oregon landmarks, and commercial operations including logging and fish packing.
Architectural Entourage The Architectural Entourage is a collection of digital-born images of people and objects for use in student work.
Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Artists' Books at the University of Oregon Libraries Images from the collection at the University of Oregon's Design Library that spans the history of works of art in book form from 1957 to books by artists today with special emphasis on artists working in the Pacific Northwest.
Building Oregon Provides approximately 20,000 images with accompanying documentation about the architectural heritage of the Pacific Northwest with special emphasis on Oregon’s historic sites and built environment.
Dan Powell photographs, 1970s-2000s A selection of the work of Dan Powell: constructed imagery done in the studio as well as social landscape and physical landscape imagery ranging from such diverse areas as Eastern Oregon and the Western United States to New York City and various European Countries.
Ellis Fuller Lawrence papers, 1909-1929 A selection of works by Lawrence, an American architect working primarily in the state of Oregon. In 1914 he helped found and became the first dean of what would become the University of Oregon’s School of Architecture & Environment. Lawrence also planned the UO campus and designed many campus buildings, including Knight Library and the Museum of Art.
The Fairbanks Fine Arts Print Collection The Print Collection is part of the Fine Art Collection, owned by the Department of Art and managed by the Fairbanks Gallery at Oregon State University.
Gertrude Bass Warner (1863-1951) photographs A collection consisting of 5,500 images, many hand-colored, dating from 1910 to 1929. In addition to images taken by Mrs. Warner, the collection includes slides purchased on her travels. The images depict art objects, crafts, structures, religious and traditional ceremonies, landscapes, and people.
Gertrude Bass Warner and the Early Photography Archives of the University Art Museum/Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art Collection of historic negatives from the Gertrude Bass Warner Collection at the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art represents a significant portion of the museum’s early collection photo documentation.
The Gertrude Bass Warner Collection of Japanese Votive Slips (nosatsu), 1850s-1930s The University of Oregon Libraries holds the only known collection of Japanese shrine and temple votive slips (nōsatsu) in North America. The images in the collection cover a wide range of themes and topics including landscapes; depictions of figures from Edo-period popular fiction and theatre; shrines and temples; seasonal celebrations; mythical creatures; firefighters; Japanese toys and collectibles; and prints showing the activities of the nōsatsu-kai members themselves.
Gertrude Bass Warner papers, 1909-1923 Travel diaries, notes, correspondence and ephemera related to research about shrines and religious ceremonies for several manuscripts that Gertrude Bass Warner (1863–1951) was working on. There is also correspondence about pieces of art that she and her husband were collecting to bring back to the United States for a museum exhibit.
Historic and Cultural Textile and Apparel Collection The collection is a scholarly resource dedicated to the preservation, documentation, and interpretation of apparel and textile material culture. Design elements and textural fabric varieties are a key focus of the collection, which consists of Euro-American and non-Western apparel and textiles.
James Cloutier photographs, 1977 A native Oregonian artist and photographer, Cloutier's drawings and photographs document the history of culture in Oregon, often with humorous twists, such as can be found in his illustrated map of Eugene, Oregon incorporating more than 300 local businesses with cartoon imagery.
Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art A selection of the Museum’s permanent collection. The collection is restricted to UO and OSU affiliates and can be accessed from off campus using the Virtual Private Network (VPN.) The Museum’s public collection is online at: http://jsmacollection.uoregon.edu.
Lowenstam Collection of Ancient Western Art and Archaeology A collection composed primarily of ceramics in European and American museums, architecture and archaeological sites across southern Europe.
Mongolian Altai Inventory Collection An image collection presents over 2,500 images supporting the Archaeology and Landscape in the Altai Mountains of Mongolia website, and represents the first broad inventory of surface archaeology in northwestern Mongolia.
Northwest Folklife Digital Collection A collection of images documenting the customary beliefs, social practices, and material traits of cultural, religious, occupational, and ethnic groups throughout Oregon and the Northwest.
Oregon Percent for Art Images and documentation from Oregon’s Percent for Art program, legislation that mandates 1% of the direct construction funds of new or remodeled state buildings with construction budgets of $100,000 or more be set aside for the acquisition of art work.
Roy C. Andrews photographs, 1902-1955 Photograph collection highlighting photographs of one-room schoolhouses in southern Lane County, 1911–1913.

Biology, Entomology, Pharmacy Studies

Ken Gray Insect Image Collection The Ken Gray Insect Image Collection consists of prints and negatives depicting various types of insects at their larval and adult stages.

Business and Economics

Texts and Data This set includes texts and data acquired by the University of Oregon library and are primarily restricted to UO community access. Please use the campus VPN to access content.

Cinema Studies

Mayo Methot Bogart (1904-1951) photographs Mayo Methot Bogart (1904–1951) was an American film and theatre actress. She was married to Humphrey Bogart from 1938 to 1945. The collection consists of candid shots of the couple and portraits of their friends. Other Bogart images are included in the Von Rhein collection.

East Asian Studies and History

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
ChinaVine A collection of materials interpreting China’s cultural heritage and is largely associated with fieldwork conducted in China by ChinaVine Scholars.
Gertrude Bass Warner (1863-1951) photographs A collection consisting of 5,500 images, many hand-colored, dating from 1910 to 1929. In addition to images taken by Mrs. Warner, the collection includes slides purchased on her travels. The images depict art objects, crafts, structures, religious and traditional ceremonies, landscapes, and people.
The Gertrude Bass Warner Collection of Japanese Votive Slips (nosatsu), 1850s-1930s The University of Oregon Libraries holds the only known collection of Japanese shrine and temple votive slips (nōsatsu) in North America. The images in the collection cover a wide range of themes and topics including landscapes; depictions of figures from Edo-period popular fiction and theatre; shrines and temples; seasonal celebrations; mythical creatures; firefighters; Japanese toys and collectibles; and prints showing the activities of the nōsatsu-kai members themselves.
Gertrude Bass Warner papers, 1879-1954 Consists of correspondence, business records, photographs, and an unpublished manuscript relating to her interest in Asian culture and her work promoting international understanding through art.
Gertrude Bass Warner papers, 1909-1923 Travel diaries, notes, correspondence and ephemera related to research about shrines and religious ceremonies for several manuscripts that Gertrude Bass Warner (1863–1951) was working on. There is also correspondence about pieces of art that she and her husband were collecting to bring back to the United States for a museum exhibit.
Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art Collection of historic negatives from the Gertrude Bass Warner Collection at the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art represents a significant portion of the museum’s early collection photo documentation.

Education

Roy C. Andrews photographs, 1902-1955 Photograph collection highlighting photographs of one-room schoolhouses in southern Lane County, 1911–1913.

Engineering & Applied Sciences

Randall V. Mills Transportation Collection (1907-1952) photographs, ca. 1937-1952 The collection features photographs pertaining to transportation in the Pacific Northwest and folklore.

English Communication, Criticism and Journalism

Alice B. Sheldon, pen name James Tiptree, Jr., papers, 1920-1999 Alice B. Sheldon, pen name James Tiptree, Jr. (1915–1987), was a much acclaimed science fiction author, publishing from 1968 to 1987. The papers contain diaries; artwork; unpublished poetry, short stories and her manuscript “The Psychology of Value in the Graphic Arts”; documents relating to her military and CIA service; notes from her academic career; Tiptree’s science fiction manuscripts; and correspondence with her parents and other writers.
The Daily Barometer Independent campus newspaper of Oregon State University.
Joanna Russ papers, 1968-1989 Joanna Russ was a feminist, educator, award-winning author and literary critic. The papers include manuscripts of her novels, unpublished plays, published and unpublished short stories, theoretical essays, and sketches of contemporary life. Russ also maintained an extensive correspondence with many U.S. and English feminist writers and theorists of the late twentieth century.
The Manuscript The Manuscript literary magazine was published by the Oregon State College English Department from the late 1920s to the early 1930s to highlight writing by Oregon State students.
Orange Owl The Orange Owl was a college humor magazine published from 1920 to 1928 by the Orange Owl Chapter of the Hammer and Coffin National Honorary Society at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC).
Oregon Daily Emerald Archives The Oregon Daily Emerald (ODE) Archives is a full text searchable database of past ODE issues. The current collection began with issues in September 2005.
Oregon State University Student Protest and Underground Publications Collection of underground publications.
Oregon State Yank The Oregon State Yank was edited and published by Oregon State College alumnae, Elaine Kollins Sewell and Jane Steagall, to share news of service activities of alumni serving in World War II and provide campus news to alumni.

Environmental Studies and Resource Management

1993 ODFW Oregon Rocky Shore Aerial Photography Survey Aerial survey of Oregon’s intertidal zone created for two primary reasons: assess kelp stocks and document Snowy Plover habitat.
Annual Cruise The Annual Cruise was published for each academic year from 1920 through 1975 by the Forestry Club as a yearbook for Oregon State forestry students and alumni. It includes articles on forestry topics, information about and photographs of forestry students and faculty, reports of Forestry Club activities, alumni news, and updates on current research activities.
Gerald W. Williams Collection Collection of historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service. Includes photos of the WWI era Spruce Production Division, logging photos of northwest Oregon taken by John Fletcher Ford, photos of Celilo Falls taken in 1956 by Jack Williams, and photos of depression era Civilian Conservation Corps camps and activities.
J.F. Ford Photographs The J.F. Ford Photographs consist of images of logging and landscapes in Oregon and Washington, primarily of the lower Columbia River region.
The Middle East Water Collection The Middle East Water Collection provides access to over 5,000 public items on political, socio-economic, demographic, and legal issues of water in the Middle East.
Pacific Northwest Stream Survey Collection comprised of 1000+ photographs taken between 1934 and 1945 by the U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Fisheries.
Rising Flood Waters: 1964 Corvallis This collection features 59 oblique photographs flown by Western Ways, Inc. on December 23, 1964. These images were taken when the Willamette River stood at 23' and document the extensive flooding in the Corvallis area.
The Siuslaw National Forest Collection The Siuslaw National Forest (SNF) collection contains nearly 5,000 digital images from the late 1800s to the present that reflect changing forest management practices, landscapes, and people over the course of Siuslaw National Forest history.
Western Waters Digital Library The Western Waters Digital Library: Columbia River Basin in Oregon is a collection of historical and contemporary resources focused on the Columbia River Basin.

European Studies and History

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Petrarch Canzionere The items in the Petrarch digital collection support the Oregon Petrarch Open Book (OPOB). OPOB is a digital scholarship project directed by Professor Massimo Lollini as an ongoing web-based system devoted to the study and teaching of Petrarch’s Canzoniere.

Geography

1993 ODFW Oregon Rocky Shore Aerial Photographer Survey Aerial survey of Oregon’s intertidal zone created for two primary reasons: assess kelp stocks and document Snowy Plover habitat.
Oregon Maps Selection of maps from the Oregon State University and University of Oregon libraries’ collections.

Indigenous American Studies and History

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
C. L. Andrews photographs, 1880s-1948 Images documenting native life, natural resources, and the exploration of Alaska and the Yukon.
Gifford Photographic Collection The collection documents Oregon landmarks and scenic views on the Oregon coast and in the Cascade Mountains, Willamette Valley, and central and eastern Oregon; agriculture in Oregon; and Native Americans, especially of the Columbia Plateau.
Joel Palmer Papers The collection of Joel Palmer, Superintendent of Indian Affairs for the Oregon Territory 1847-1857, including correspondence; official records of the Oregon Superintendency and U.S. Office of Indian Affairs; photographs; typescript copies of diaries, including travel diaries for trips throughout the northwestern United States; letters sent to Palmer’s wife, Sarah Ann Derbyshire Palmer; and letters from Palmer’s descendants. The collection also includes the 1847 publication of Palmer’s Journal of Travels over the Rocky Mountains, an account of his 1845 journey to Oregon.
Lee D. Drake (1882-1957) photographs, ca. 1910-1957 The collection includes Drake’s amateur work and that of professional photographers from the Pendleton region, capturing images of the Pendleton Round-up, tribal peoples of the region, and Drake friends and family
Lee Moorhouse (1850-1926) photographs, 1888-1916 9,000 images which document urban, rural, and Native American life in the Columbia Basin, and particularly Umatilla County, Oregon.
OSU Special Collection & Archives Research Center All Oregon Digital items that have been digitized out of the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center (SCARC).
University of Oregon Special Collections Manuscripts and Rare Books A small collection of manuscripts and rare books existing outside other collections.
Picturing the Cayuse, Walla Walla, and Umatilla Tribes Lee Moorhouse photographs from 1888 to 1916 he produced over 9,000 images which document urban, rural, and Native American life in the Columbia Basin, and particularly Umatilla County, Oregon.

Latinx and Latin American Studies and History

Braceros in Oregon Photograph Collection Archival photograph collection of the Braceros that worked in the agricultural fields and orchards of Oregon, 1942-1947.
Corazon de Dixie: Mexicanos in the U.S. South since 1920 Comprised of primary source documents cited in Julie M. Weise's book and additional relevant documents unique to the site, this collection includes census records, archival documents, photographs, and articles related to Latino immigration and Mexicanos in the southern United States from 1910–2012.
Oregon Latino Heritage The Oregon Latino Heritage digital collection showcases materials Latino heritage collections from University of Oregon Special Collections & University Archives. The foundation of the collection is from student collected and created materials as part of the Latino Roots courses taught by Professors Lynn Stephen and Gabriela Martinez.
OSU Special Collection & Archives Research Center All Oregon Digital items that have been digitized out of the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center (SCARC).

Marine Biology and Resource Management

Oregon Institute of Marine Biology Slides and Photographs The Oregon Institute of Marine Biology collection contains a variety of images of marine and terrestrial organisms including vascular plants, diatoms, invertebrates, birds, mammals and fishes. Also included are images of land and water use, OIMB history and research.

Middle Eastern Studies and History

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
The Middle East Water Collection The Middle East Water Collection provides access to over 5,000 public items on political, socio-economic, demographic, and legal issues of water in the Middle East.

Music and Theater Arts

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Historic Sheet Music Collection A selection of images from the collections of printed sheet music held by the Music Services Department and in the Oregon Collection of Special Collections & University Archives.

Oregon History

The Album Collection A selection of images from photo albums in UO's Special Collection and University Archives.
Angelus Studio photographs, 1880s-1940s The Angelus Studio collection provides extraordinary documentation of the city of Portland, the Lewis & Clark Exposition of 1905, Oregon landmarks, and commercial operations including logging and fish packing.
Braceros in Oregon Photograph Collection Archival photograph collection of the Braceros that worked in the agricultural fields and orchards of Oregon, 1942-1947.
Building Oregon Provides approximately 20,000 images with accompanying documentation about the architectural heritage of the Pacific Northwest with special emphasis on Oregon’s historic sites and built environment.
C. L. Andrews photographs, 1880s-1948 Documentation on native life, natural resources, and exploration of Alaska and the Yukon.
Columbia Gorge Discovery Center This regional photo collection of over 9,000 images from the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center & Museum.
Colver family papers, circa 1860-1888 Documents and reminiscences from Oregon Trail pioneer Samuel Colver and his family.
Corvallis Historical Images Historic images of Corvallis, Oregon.
The Electric Studio/O.G. Allen photographs, ca. 1911-1913 Images from Orla G. Allen (dates unknown), commonly known as O.G. Allen, a professional photographer operating in Pendleton, Oregon, circa 1910-1920.
Ellmaker family papers, 1768-2005 Documents from the the Ellmaker family, a prominent pioneer family who first settled in Lane County, Oregon in the 1850s.
Frank Patterson Photographs The Frank Patterson Photographs depict natural features, tourist sites, and highways in Oregon and northern California.
Gerald W. Williams Collection The collected historic photographs, personal papers, and research library of Gerald "Jerry" Williams, former national historian for the U.S. Forest Service.
Gifford Photographic Collection The collection documents Oregon landmarks and scenic views on the Oregon coast and in the Cascade Mountains, Willamette Valley, and central and eastern Oregon; agriculture in Oregon; and Native Americans, especially of the Columbia Plateau.
Grayson Mathews (1948-2007) photographs, 1970s-1990s Photos of the American West, 1971-1972, Klamath Falls, Oregon and documentation of the natural and human transformation of the Klamath Basin landscape.
Historic Images of Oregon State University The Historical Images of Oregon State University repository contains a vast array of OSU related photographs drawn from the more than 600,000 photographs held in the collections of the OSU Libraries' Special Collections and Archives Research Center.
J.F. Ford Photographs The J.F. Ford Photographs consist of images of logging and landscapes in Oregon and Washington, primarily of the lower Columbia River region.
James Cloutier photographs, 1977 A native Oregonian artist and photographer, Cloutier's drawings and photographs document the history of culture in Oregon, often with humorous twists, such as can be found in his illustrated map of Eugene, Oregon incorporating more than 300 local businesses with cartoon imagery.
Joel Palmer Papers The collection of Joel Palmer, Superintendent of Indian Affairs for the Oregon Territory 1847-1857, including correspondence; official records of the Oregon Superintendency and U.S. Office of Indian Affairs; photographs; typescript copies of diaries, including travel diaries for trips throughout the northwestern United States; letters sent to Palmer’s wife, Sarah Ann Derbyshire Palmer; and letters from Palmer’s descendants. The collection also includes the 1847 publication of Palmer’s Journal of Travels over the Rocky Mountains, an account of his 1845 journey to Oregon.
John Bauguess photographs, 1970s Eugene Photographer John Bauguess documented downtown Eugene during a period of urban renewal in the 1970s.
Lee D. Drake (1882-1957) photographs, ca. 1910-1957 The collection includes Drake’s amateur work and that of professional photographers from the Pendleton region, capturing images of the Pendleton Round-up, tribal peoples of the region, and Drake friends and family
Lee Moorhouse (1850-1926) photographs, 1888-1916 9,000 images which document urban, rural, and Native American life in the Columbia Basin, and particularly Umatilla County, Oregon.
Lesbian Intentional Community: Ruth Mountaingrove (b. 1923) photographs A selection of photographs from Ruth Mountaingrove (1923– ), a photographer, writer and artist who moved to Oregon in 1971, settling in communes and eventually co-founding Rootworks, a lesbian land in Southern Oregon.
Lincoln County Historical Society Archive Photographs from the Lincoln County Historical Society.
Northwest Christian University A small collection of items is from the Kellenberger Library Archives.
Opal S. Whiteley (1897-1992) photographs Oregon native author and speaker who studied biology and professed harmony with nature in her book, The Fairyland Around Us (Los Angeles, 1918). Whitely was raised in a logging camp in Lane County, Oregon, and later published a poetic diary, The Story of Opal, purportedly written during her childhood.
Oregon's Agricultural Progress Oregon's Agricultural Progress magazine is a report to the taxpayers of Oregon from Oregon State University's Agricultural Experiment Station demonstrating the ways in which agriculture contributes to the economy, environment, and social structure of Oregon and the world.
Oregon Century Farm and Ranch Program The Oregon Century Farm and Ranch Program was established in 1958 by the Oregon Historical Society, just prior to Oregon’s 1959 statehood centennial, to honor farm and ranch families with century-long connections to the land and to recognize Oregon’s rich agricultural heritage.
Oregon Chinese Disinterment Documents The Oregon Chinese Disinterment Documents digital collection provides access to documents pertaining to the 1948-1949 disinterment of hundreds of Chinese immigrants' remains from cemeteries throughout Oregon.
Oregon Daily Emerald Archives The Oregon Daily Emerald (ODE) Archives is a full text searchable database of past ODE issues. The current collection began with issues in September 2005.
Oregon Explorerer A collection of images of Oregon.
Oregon Hops & Brewing Archives Images, publications, and textual documents related to the history of hops and brewing in Oregon.
Oregon Latino Heritage The Oregon Latino Heritage digital collection showcases materials Latino heritage collections from University of Oregon Special Collections & University Archives. The foundation of the collection is from student collected and created materials as part of the Latino Roots courses taught by Professors Lynn Stephen and Gabriela Martinez.
Oregon Multicultural Archives Images that document the lives and activities of ethnic minorities in Oregon.
Oregon Percent for Art Images and documentation from Oregon’s Percent for Art program, legislation that mandates 1% of the direct construction funds of new or remodeled state buildings with construction budgets of $100,000 or more be set aside for the acquisition of art work.
OSU Special Collection & Archives Research Center All Oregon Digital items that have been digitized out of the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center (SCARC).
Pacific Northwest Stream Survey Collection comprises 1000+ photographs taken between 1934 and 1945 by the U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Fisheries.
Picturing the Cayuses, Walla Walla, and Umatilla Tribes Lee Moorhouse photographs from 1888 to 1916 he produced over 9,000 images which document urban, rural, and Native American life in the Columbia Basin, and particularly Umatilla County, Oregon.
Randall V. Mills Transportation Collection (1907-1952) photographs, ca. 1937-1952 The collection features photographs pertaining to transportation in the Pacific Northwest and folklore.
Reuniting Finley and Bohlman Materials gathered by biologist William Lovell Finley and Herman T. Bohlman representing over fifty years (1899-1946) of work to document and protect the diversity of bird life in Oregon.
Rising Flood Waters: 1964 Corvallis This collection features 59 oblique photographs flown by Western Ways, Inc. on December 23, 1964. These images were taken when the Willamette River stood at 23' and document the extensive flooding in the Corvallis area.
Roy C. Andrews photographs, 1902-1955 Photograph collection highlighting photographs of one-room schoolhouses in southern Lane County, 1911–1913.
The Siuslaw National Forest Collection The Siuslaw National Forest (SNF) collection contains nearly 5,000 digital images from the late 1800s to the present that reflect changing forest management practices, landscapes, and people over the course of Siuslaw National Forest history.
University of Oregon Special Collections Manuscripts and Rare Books A small collection of manuscripts and rare books exist outside other collections.
Walter S. Bowman (1865-1938) photographs, 1880s-1920s A selection of photographs from Walter S. Bowman (1865–1938), a professional photographer who worked in Pendleton, Oregon, from the late 1880s to the mid 1930s.
Western Waters Digital Library The Western Waters Digital Library: Columbia River Basin in Oregon is a collection of historical and contemporary resources focused on the Columbia River Basin.
Willis Dunagan diaries and legal papers, 1858-1897 Willis Dunagan was a farmer in Marion County, Oregon. The collection includes 15 bound diaries (1865-1872, 1875, 1879-1884, 1886-1891, 1894-1897) that include daily activities, financial records, and occasional inspirational musings.

Oregon State University History and Publications

Annual Cruise The Annual Cruise was published for each academic year from 1920 through 1975 by the Forestry Club as a yearbook for Oregon State forestry students and alumni. It includes articles on forestry topics, information about and photographs of forestry students and faculty, reports of Forestry Club activities, alumni news, and updates on current research activities.
Corvallis Historical Images Historic images of Corvallis, Oregon.
The Daily Barometer Independent campus newspaper of Oregon State University.
Historical Publications of Oregon State University The Historical Publications of Oregon State University digital collection provides online access to a variety of publications generated by students and student organizations, faculty and staff organizations, and offices and departments on campus, dating back to the nineteenth century.
Historic Images of Oregon State University The Historical Images of Oregon State University repository contains a vast array of OSU related photographs drawn from the more than 600,000 photographs held in the collections of the OSU Libraries' Special Collections and Archives Research Center.
Illustrated Booklets The Illustrated Booklets were published by Oregon Agricultural College (OAC) during the 1910s and 1920s to promote and publicize the College to potential students and Oregon residents, and to provide vocational guidance to youth and young adults.
The Manuscript The Manuscript literary magazine was published by the Oregon State College English Department from the late 1920s to the early 1930s to highlight writing by Oregon State students.
Orange Owl The Orange Owl was a college humor magazine published from 1920 to 1928 by the Orange Owl Chapter of the Hammer and Coffin National Honorary Society at Oregon Agricultural College (OAC).
Oregon State University Alumni Magazine A regular news publication that provides information on campus events, research and teaching, and athletics, as well as news of the activities and lives of Oregon State alumni.
Oregon State University Athletics This set documents the history of formal and informal athletic competition at Oregon State from before the turn of the twentieth century up to present day.
Oregon State University College and Department Histories This set contains dozens of typescripts and booklets documenting the individual histories of a wide variety of colleges, schools, departments and programs at Oregon State University.
Oregon State University Commencement Programs The Oregon State University Commencement Programs document degrees awarded by Oregon State University since 1873.
Oregon State University Fact Books A collection of the Oregon State Fact Book publication from 1988-2000.
Oregon State University General Catalogs The General Catalogs provide comprehensive information about Oregon State University from its earliest incarnation to present day.
Oregon State University Sport Media Guides The OSU Sports Media Guides, produced by the Intercollegiate Athletics Sports Information Department, consist of annual guides for Oregon State University's intercollegiate sports teams.
Oregon State University Student Protest and Underground Publications Collection of underground publications.
Oregon State University Yearbooks The Oregon State University Yearbooks digital collection includes 111 yearbooks published by the students of Oregon State University, beginning with the 1894 Hayseed.
Oregon State Yank The Oregon State Yank was edited and published by Oregon State College alumnae, Elaine Kollins Sewell and Jane Steagall, to share news of service activities of alumni serving in World War II and provide campus news to alumni.
OSU's WWII Era Japanese American Students Collection of documents about Japanese American Students of OSU during WWII.
OSU Baseball Centennial Photographs, video, ephemera, essays and statistics documenting more than 100 years of OSU baseball players, coaches, and teams.
OSU Extension Faculty and Staff Oral Histories Collection of oral histories from OSU faculty and staff.
OSU Special Collection & Archives Research Center All Oregon Digital items that have been digitized out of the Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Research Center (SCARC).
Rising Flood Waters: 1964 Corvallis This collection features 59 oblique photographs flown by Western Ways, Inc. on December 23, 1964. These images were taken when the Willamette River stood at 23' and document the extensive flooding in the Corvallis area.

Political Science

African Political Ephemera and Realia Project Collection of ephemeral material—pamphlets, t-shirts, cloths, posters, to name just a few examples—that documents the material culture of politics in Sub-Saharan Africa.
National Japanese American Student Relocation Council records, 1942-1946 UO records relating to the National Japanese American Student Relocation Council, created by university administrators as a means of relocating Japanese American college students to other universities and colleges away from the West coast during World War II.
Oregon State University Student Protest and Underground Publications Collection of underground publications.

Product Design and Human Environment Planning

Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Historic and Cultural Textile and Apparel Collection The collection is a scholarly resource dedicated to the preservation, documentation, and interpretation of apparel and textile material culture. Design elements and textural fabric varieties are a key focus of the collection, which consists of Euro-American and non-Western apparel and textiles.
John Bauguess photographs, 1970s Eugene Photographer John Bauguess documented downtown Eugene during a period of urban renewal in the 1970s.
Northwest Folklife Digital Collection A collection of images documenting the customary beliefs, social practices, and material traits of cultural, religious, occupational, and ethnic groups throughout Oregon and the Northwest.

Psychology & Counseling

Dissociation and Trauma Archives Full text searchable articles and case studies published in the 1800s and early 1900s. Most items are selected from: Goettmann, B. A., Greaves, B. G., & Coons, M. P. (1994). Multiple personality and dissociation, 1791–1992: a complete bibliography. Sidran Press. 2nd edition.

University of Oregon History and Publications

Gertrude Bass Warner and the Early Photography Archives of the University Art Museum/Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art Collection of historic negatives from the Gertrude Bass Warner Collection at the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art represents a significant portion of the museum’s early collection photo documentation.
Gertrude Bass Warner papers, 1879-1954 Consists of correspondence, business records, photographs, and an unpublished manuscript relating to her interest in Asian culture and her work promoting international understanding through art.
National Japanese American Student Relocation Council records, 1942-1946 UO records relating to the National Japanese American Student Relocation Council, created by university administrators as a means of relocating Japanese American college students to other universities and colleges away from the West coast during World War II.
Oregon Daily Emerald Archives The Oregon Daily Emerald (ODE) Archives is a full text searchable database of past ODE issues. The current collection began with issues in September 2005.
UO Archives Photographs The University Archives Photograph Collection contains modern and vintage photographic prints related to the University of Oregon.
UO Athletics A collection of photographs of people and events related to athletics at the University of Oregon over the past 110 years.
UO Office of the President A selection of documents from the Office of the President at the University of Oregon including records and the personal papers of presidents. Students participating in the Honors College colloquium on university history and other presidential history researchers selected some of the documents displayed on the site.
UO Stock Photos Online resource of stock photographic images of the people, places, and happenings of the University of Oregon.
UO Veterans Interviews with both veterans and active duty service men and women conducted and transcribed by University of Oregon students documenting the military experiences of men and women associated with the University of Oregon and the wider Oregon community.

Women's & Gender Studies

Alice B. Sheldon, pen name James Tiptree, Jr., papers, 1920-1999 Alice B. Sheldon, pen name James Tiptree, Jr. (1915–1987), was a much acclaimed science fiction author, publishing from 1968 to 1987. The papers contain diaries; artwork; unpublished poetry, short stories and her manuscript “The Psychology of Value in the Graphic Arts”; documents relating to her military and CIA service; notes from her academic career; Tiptree’s science fiction manuscripts; and correspondence with her parents and other writers.
Art and Architecture Images Collection Collection of world art and architecture images created for personal study, teaching and research. AAI is limited to affiliates of the University of Oregon and can be accessed on networked terminals or through the UO Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Joanna Russ papers, 1968-1989 Joanna Russ was a feminist, educator, award-winning author and literary critic. The papers include manuscripts of her novels, unpublished plays, published and unpublished short stories, theoretical essays, and sketches of contemporary life. Russ also maintained an extensive correspondence with many U.S. and English feminist writers and theorists of the late twentieth century.
Lesbian Intentional Community: Ruth Mountaingrove (b. 1923) photographs A selection of photographs from Ruth Mountaingrove (1923– ), a photographer, writer and artist who moved to Oregon in 1971, settling in communes and eventually co-founding Rootworks, a lesbian land in Southern Oregon.

Oregon Digital