Research Guides: American Literature/Criticism: Finding Primary Texts

Quick start for Primary Texts

Digital Collections

ProQuest history vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle.
Access to federal documents relating to African-American history and social movements. Includes material from different Presidential administrations, the FBI, and federal agencies such as the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.
Vogue Archive
Digitized, full-color images of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present
Oregon Digital
Oregon Digital provides discovery of and access to unique digitized and born-digital materials, including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more. Materials in the broad collection are contributed from the University of Oregon and Oregon State University.
Early English Books Online
Digitized facsimiles of all printed materials published in Great Britain between 1473 and 1700, and materials published elsewhere in the world in English during the same period. Includes searchable text from the Text Creation Project, Phase I.
Materials include books, tracts, pamphlets, advertisements, ballads, rhymes, and other ephemera. The database continues to develop, with over 100,000 records currently included and increasing capabilities for direct keyword searching of the texts.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Digitized copies of significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. ECCO includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements, and other works by both well-known and lesser-known men and women writers.

Locating Sources

Eight centuries
Eight Centuries is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. It provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
American Periodicals
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
ArchiveGrid
Database of archival collection descriptions, including historical documents, personal papers, and family histories around the world
Archives West
Descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.

Need Help?

Librarian

Jeff Staiger

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-1897 | jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Biographies, Cinema Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, Folklore, Historic Preservation, Literature/ Literary Criticism, Philosophy, Romance Languages, Theater Arts