Research Guides: African Studies: Academic Articles & Databases

General Article Databases

General

JSTOR
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes scholarly journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Historical Abstracts
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Project Muse
Searches the full text of electronic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Specialized

Persee
French database of academic articles in the social sciences. All content is in French.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.

African Journals & Databases

These databases and collections of journals focus on publications from African countries. Some are collections of journals, that are organized by their country of publication and arranged for browsing, while others are searchable databases of articles from journals published throughout the continent.

AfricaBib.org. Africana Periodical Literature
Indexes journals from 29 African countries. Organized into broad subject areas (Economics, Education, Law, Literature, Politics, Transportation, etc.).
African Journals Online
Database of African-published journals covering a wide range of scholarship and includes a number of Open Access journals that are freely available to everyone.
Browse the content of these Open Access journals or search across all content, but search results will contain citations and abstracts for content to which we do not subscribe.

African Studies

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

General Article Databases

African Journals & Databases