Skip to Main Content
UO Databases
CHANT (Chinese Ancient Texts) database This link opens in a new window
Traditional ancient Chinese texts from the pre-Han (221 BC) up to the Six Dynasties (581 AD). UO subscription contains only the segment of the pre-Qin to Han (221 BC-220 AD) period.
China Academic Journals / 中国期刊全文数据库 & Century Journals Project / 世纪期刊 (Chinese interface) This link opens in a new window
User guide available at CNKI Express 2.0 Manual Covers full text articles from approximately 300 Chinese academic journals on Literature/History/Philosophy (Series F).
Journals are in Chinese and in Adobe Acrobat format. Your web browser will need Chinese character or Unicode fonts and your Acrobat reader may also need Chinese character fonts. Although you can search in English, the CAJ search will return primarily Chinese-language results from 2006 to the present. Important Note: CAJ was developed to be searched with Internet Explorer. When viewing your download options, make sure that you select "Download PDF" and not "Download CAJ." Viewing the PDF files from this site may also require that you have current versions of Chinese language fonts downloaded in Adobe Acrobat.
China Doctoral Dissertations / Master's Theses/ 中国博士优秀硕士学学位论文全文数据库 (Chinese interface) This link opens in a new window
User guide available at CNKI Express 2.0 Manual
Comprehensive database of dissertations and theses in China.
China Doctoral Dissertations / Master's Theses/ 中国博士优秀硕士学学位论文全文数据库 (English interface) This link opens in a new window
User guide available at CNKI Express 2.0 Manual
Comprehensive database of dissertations and theses in China.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949) This link opens in a new window
Covers majority of periodicals published in China between 1911 and 1949 with over 20,000 journal titles.
Wan Qing qi kan quan wen shu ju ku (1833-1911) This link opens in a new window
Covers almost the entire collection of periodicals published in the Qing dynasty (1644-1911) with more than 280,000 pieces of literature.
Asian Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Primary bibliography in the field of Asian Studies, which includes citations for journal articles, books, conference proceedings and festschriften. Covers only materials written in western languages. Coverage is from 1971 to the present. For bibliography prior to 1971, consult the Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1941-1965 (Knight Z3001.C94)
e-Asia Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources focussed on Asia.
Special Topics
Song Research Tools
an online guide to bibliographies, indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases and chronologies of use to those interested in all aspects of Chinese society during the Song Dynasty (960-1279). The history of this guide goes back to Peter Bol's (Harvard University) Research Tools for the Study of Sung History, published in 1990 as part of the Monograph Series of the Journal of Sung-Yuan Studies. The second edition was published in 1996. In 2003, Hilde De Weerdt (Leiden University) created an online edition, titled Song Research Tools. This online edition went through a major update in November 2006 when more than 200 new titles were added. The online guide allows the viewers to browse and download the entire content.
Other Resources
Hong Kong Journals Online
A full-text image database (developed by the University of Hong Kong Libraries) providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1872.
Old Hong Kong Newspapers
A selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early to present-day Hong Kong.
A Visual Source-book of Chinese Civilization
a very helpful tool, designed by Patricia Buckley Ebrey of University of Washington, covering ten major aspects of Chinese civilization
中國經典文獻工具書錄 (Classical Historiography for Chinese History)
Compiled by Benjamin A. Elman, Professor of East Asian Studies and History, Princeton University, this database is not only a useful guide to classical Chinese historiography, but it also incorporates many helpful electronic resources for Chinese studies.
Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection at LC
The Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection includes the most valuable titles and editions housed in the Library’s Asian Division, some of which date back to the 11th or 12th century and are the only extant copies in the world. This new digital collection brings together printed books, manuscripts, Buddhist sutras, works with hand-painted pictures, local gazetteers, and ancient maps. These materials encompass a wide array of disciplines and subjects in classics, history, geography, philosophy, and literature. The majority are editions from the Ming dynasty (1368-1644) and early Qing dynasty (1644-1795), while nearly 30 titles are Song dynasty (960-1279) and Yuan dynasty (1279-1368) editions.
