Research Guides: Cinema Studies: Reception Information

Reception Information

These sources will help you find information about how films were received by both film critics and general audiences. You'll find reviews, box office receipts, video and DVD sales, awards, news items about films' popularity, and scholarly criticism.

Box Office Mojo
Box Office Mojo reports box-office information for movies produced and distributed worldwide (with an emphasis on Hollywood).

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Especially useful for finding Variety film reviews.
Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

**Tutorial available: View an Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive tutorial

FIAF Databases This link opens in a new window
Film reviews and criticism from U.S. and international film journals.
Includes the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the Treasures from the Film Archives, and the International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for film reviews, industry news, reviews, theater listings, interviews, gossip, publicity stories, and photographs.

Media History Digital Library
Full-text digital reproductions of early film industry and fan magazines, including Photoplay, Hollywood Reporter, and much more.
**Tutorial available: View a Media History Digital Library tutorial

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for scholarly criticism and analysis of film, television, new media, cultural studies, and literature.

**Tutorial available: View a MLA International Bibliography tutorial
The Numbers
Provides current and historical business information about the film industry, including distribution information, box office, DVD sales, and data about the film industry's most influential people.

New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for film reviews, industry news, interviews, gossip, publicity stories, and photographs.

**Tutorial available: View a New York Times tutorial

Humanities Librarian

Jeff Staiger

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-1897 | jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Biographies, Cinema Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, Folklore, Historic Preservation, Literature/ Literary Criticism, Philosophy, Romance Languages, Theater Arts