Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Citation and Plagiarism

This guide contains a select list of resources for properly citing your sources and avoiding plagiarism.

Important note about citing business resources

Important Note on Citing Business Resources:

Although the APA provides clear instructions on how to cite standard publication types, some business-specific resources include unique information that doesn't directly match APA instructions. Because of that, some of the examples and instructions on this page represent the UO Libraries' interpretation of APA rules.

For citing resources in standard article databases including: ABI/INFORM, Factiva, and Business Source Premier, please consult the Journal Articles or Magazine & News Articles APA guidelines.

In October 2019, the American Psychological Association published its 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual, which replaced the 6th edition from 2009. To learn about the major changes in the APA guidelines, please consult this video tutorial

Checkpoint (RIA)

RIA. (2020). 2301 Business Incentive Credits—General Business Credit (GBC)—Form 3800. Federal tax handbook. RIA Checkpoint. https://checkpoint.riag.com.

AICPA. (2020, March 1). Not-for-Profit Entities. AICPA Audit and Accounting Guide. RIA Checkpoint. https://checkpoint.riag.com.

EIU

Economist Intelligence Unit. (2019, July 23). China’s social credit system and its implications. https://gfs.eiu.com

First Research

Mergent. (2020, July 6). Computer Peripheral Equipment Manufacturing. First Research. Retrieved July 15, 2020, from https://mergent.firstresearch-learn.com

IBISWorld

Gambardella, A. (2020, May). IBISWorld Industry 52391 Venture Capital & Principal Trading in the US. Retrieved July 10, 2020 from https://www.ibisworld.com

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) Data Archive

Instructions for citing data from this database are available from the publisher at https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/web/pages/datamanagement/citations.html

MarketResearch.com

Freedonia Focus Reports. (2018, April). Reactive Adhesives & Sealants: United States. MarketResearch.com. https://www.marketresearch.com

Mergent Intellect

Mergent. (n.d.). UPS Supply Chain Solutions, Inc. - Family Tree. Mergent Intellect. Retrieved October 25, 2019 from https://www.mergentintellect.com

Mergent Online

Citing part of a company profile

Mergent. (2019). Apple Inc. company financials: income statement [Data set]. Mergent Online. Retrieved August 1, 2020 from https://www.mergentonline.com

Citing an industry report
Mergent. (2020, May). Media: North America [Industry report]. Retrieved August 1, 2020 from https://www.mergentonline.com

Mintel

Cullen, R. (2020, July). Pet Supplies. Mintel. Retrieved from https://www.mintel.com

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar. (n.d.). Google: Key ratios. Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved from https://www.morningstar.com

Morningstar. (2019, February 28) Fidelity Blue Chip Growth: Rating and risk.  Morningstar Investment Research. Retrieved from https://www.morningstar.com

MRI Simmons Insights

MRI-Simmons. (2019). National Consumer Study 12 month [CONCISELY DESCRIBE VARIABLE ONE AND VARIABLE TWO]. https://mrisimmons.com

OECD iLibrary

OECD provides citation information for all formats in iLibrary. Look for a link on the right that says: "Cite this publication"; "Cite this dataset; "Cite this graph"; "Cite this table", etc.

Passport

Citing statistics

Euromonitor. (2019). [Market share, beer, per capita at legal purchasing age, all countries] [Data set]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/

Citing a report

Euromonitor. (2020, March 18). Retailing in Egypt [Industry report]. Passport. https://www.euromonitor.com/

PitchBook

For dated items:

Pitchbook (2020, February 17) Samsonite Investors Profile. PitchBook. Retrieved from https://www.pitchbook.com

For undated or dynamically-updated items:

PitchBook. (n.d.). Uber Company Profile. PitchBook. Retrieved January 11, 2019 from https://www.pitchbook.com

Sport Fitness Industry Association (SFIA)

Sport Fitness Industry Association. (2020, February). Sport & Fitness Industry Association Sports, Fitness, And Leisure Activities Topline Participation Report. SFIA. https://www.sfia.org

Sport Market Analytics

Tables/Data Examples:

National Sporting Goods Association. (n.d.). Participation (ages 7+) ranking: Females (no. of part. in thous.) [Data]. SMA Sport Market Analytics. Retrieved January 29, 2020, from https://www.sportsmarketanalytics.com

SBRnet. (n.d.). Sports fan market/market size, by sport: Number of fans. [Data]. SMA Sport Market Analytics. Retrieved March 13, 2020, from www.sportsmarketanalytics.com

SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS. (n.d.). State Analysis -  Virginia & Washington. SRDS Circulation 2016. SRDS. Retrieved May 10, 2019, from https://next.srds.com

SRDS. (n.d.). The Boston Globe [Publication profile]. Newspaper Advertising Source. SRDS. Retrieved November 30, 2019, from https://next.srds.com

Claritas, Inc. (2010). Boston, MA/Manchester, NH [DMA profile]. Radio Advertising Source. SRDS. Retrieved December 14, 2019, from https://next.srds.com

Statista

Statista includes citations for all its content. Look for the double quotation mark ( " ) icon to find the citation generator.

location of Statista citation tool denoted by double quotation mark

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Compustat Industrial [Annual Data]. (YEARS). Available: Standard & Poor's/Compustat [access date]. Retrieved from https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/

CRSP Stocks. (YEARS). Available: Center for Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift