African American NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowThis enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Alternative Press IndexThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing for over 200 alternative and radical publications. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. 1969 to present.
American historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian SocietyThis link opens in a new windowMore than 200 years ago, the American Antiquarian Society was founded and has been recognized as a major source for U.S. primary sources published pre-1876, housing the single largest collection of Americana from the Colonial period into the twentieth-century. Now, Gale and the Society have entered an exclusive partnership to digitize the Society’s current and future periodical holdings. By including the Society’s holdings alongside our existing collections, Gale fulfills a core mission: to develop outstanding research collections for use by scholars and students in universities and libraries worldwide. Pairing the Society’s American periodical holdings with Gale’s pioneering primary source interrogation tools opens new research opportunities. Users will have new ways to explore and interact with this unrivaled collection of journals, periodicals, and magazines documenting the American people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War, Reconstruction, and the twentieth century.
American PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowSpecial interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
Black freedom struggle in the United States : a selection of primary sourcesThis link opens in a new windowFeatures select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supports a wide range of students, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.
Black Life in America The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to todayThis link opens in a new windowFrom the early days of slavery to modern times, people of African descent have had a profound impact on American history. While many Black achievements are not covered in most textbooks, Black Life in America—a unique digital archive of news media—presents the broad sweep of African American history in ways no other online resource can match. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published across four centuries, this extraordinary product provides critical perspectives on the experiences of being Black in America.
Black thought and cultureThis link opens in a new windowBlack Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
Chronicling America : historic American newspapersThis link opens in a new windowSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Gale in Context. U.S. historyThis link opens in a new windowIf searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.Coverage - scholarly articles, primary sources, encyclopedia entries, audio, video, - of topics in U.S. History, from the arrival of Vikings to Vietnam, Watergate and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.
HeinOnlineThis link opens in a new windowDigitized legal journals, reviews, U.S. government documents, regulations, laws, and treaties.
Historic Oregon NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowHistoric Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997)This link opens in a new windowHistorical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
Making of Modern Law. U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978This link opens in a new windowIf searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015)This link opens in a new windowDigital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
Nineteenth century U.S. newspapersThis link opens in a new windowIf searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.
Political Extremism and RadicalismThis link opens in a new windowIf searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison.
ProQuest CongressionalThis link opens in a new windowIndex to Congressional publications from 1789 to present; includes fulltext hearings from 1824-1979 and fulltext bills & laws from 1789 to the present
ProQuest history vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle.This link opens in a new windowAccess to federal documents relating to African-American history and social movements. Includes material from different Presidential administrations, the FBI, and federal agencies such as the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.
ProQuest Legislative InsightThis link opens in a new windowLegislative histories provide indexing of bill versions, congressional debate, congressional reports and documents, congressional hearings and committee prints, and other documents.
Sixties in AmericaThis link opens in a new windowSurveys the events, people and culture of the 1960's in the United States. Provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive characterthe Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam Warbut also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.
Student activismThis link opens in a new windowThe collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today’s vibrant, continually unfolding actions. Angus Johnston, writing in The Chronicle of Higher Education, states, “The activists of the ’60s and ’70s, confronting universities that were hostile to their values and ideals, launched a movement that remade American higher education in their own image — not completely, and perhaps not permanently, but in significant, lasting ways. Today’s activists may yet articulate — and enact — a similarly far-reaching agenda.”
