Research Guides: JCOM 350: The Creative Strategist: Databases

Need Help?

Top pics

1. WARC ( World Advertising Research Center)
WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) is a database devoted to advertising and marketing. It primarily focusing on reviewing marketing campaigns and efforts, and marketing analyses.

Why use it?
WARC provides thousands of advertising effectiveness case studies detailing strategies of leading brands. It also includes best practice guides, marketing intelligence, research papers, consumer insight, advertising trend data, special reports, news, data and forecasts, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, economic and demographic data, profiles of major brand owners, and more.

How to get started
There are two main ways of searching WARC. First, you can search for cases using the Case Finder. The other is to use Advanced Search to find articles.

Using the Case Finder
Open the STRATEGY menu to access the Case Finder.

To find cases, add keywords via the Add keyword box and then click on the Find Cases button.

Using the Advanced Search
To go to Advanced Search, click on the three vertical dots next to the Search box.

Type your search term(s) into the appropriate box.

You can use Advanced Search to include or exclude keywords. You can also limit to Articles or to a certain date range. Then click on the Search button to proceed.

On the results screen, you can refine your results. Select Recommended articles by ticking the box for this, or use the other options available to limit your results further.

Good Advertising Resources

The following databases are a good place to start looking for academic advertising resources:

Mintel academic This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research reports for the U.S. and U.K. focusing on consumer attitudes, demographics, trend information, and market data in 14 consumer product and service categories, including Beauty, eCommerce, Technology, Health & Wellness, and Social Media.
Catalyst (MRI-Simmons) This link opens in a new window
Simmons Catalyst replaces the Insight interface. Catalyst allows researchers to examine the same consumer demographics, psychographics, shopping behaviors, brand usage, and media consumption using Simmons datasets to test their scenarios. Includes access to NHCS Adult, Sports Fans, Digital Life, LGBTQ+, and SimmonsLOCAL datasets.
To access this resource, you must have the UO VPN Client software running. Download UOnet VPN here.

Simmons Catalyst User Guide [pdf]

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 170 multidisciplinary categories, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, sports, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 115 internationally standardized statistics on industry sectors, country markets, and companies as well as full text market, company, & country reports; as well as expert analysis of emerging industry, country, and consumer trends.
Sports business research network; SBRnet This link opens in a new window
Provides market research data and industry news including sports equipment sales, sports participation, consumer expenditures, sponsorship, sports facilities, and more for both professional and amateur athletics

Company & Industry Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of established and emerging industries in the US, China, and global economies. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry financial data, key success factors, and forecasting. Subscription includes US, China and Global Industry, US Company Benchmarking, Business Environment Profiles, US Specialized Industry, iExpert, and US Industry Spotlight modules.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company information database containing profiles for more than 10,000 publicly traded U.S. companies, 17,000 public international firms, subsidiary structures, property holdings, and key competitors. Also includes up to 25 years of financial statements and annual reports, as well as segment results, restated financials, preliminary results and historical ratios.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors, and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.

Pitchbook is available to authorized users of UO (full and part-time students, faculty, and staff).
To access this resource, you must have the UO VPN Client software running. Download and set up UO VPN here.
Click "more" for additional registration & access information.
First-time users, register for an account using your @uoregon.edu email address while on campus or connected remotely via VPN.
Note: Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Account access will automatically reset annually on June 30. Contact Genifer Snipes, gsnipes@uoregon.edu, for more information.
Paid for in cooperation with the Lundquist Center for Entrepreneurship.