Research Guides: ARH 425: Art & Architecture of the Crusades: Finding Articles

Databases for Secondary Sources

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of scholarly works relating to Greek and Roman civilization, 1924-2009.
ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database indexing peer reviewed/scholarly articles and other materials that support religious and theological research. Full text is available for selected journal titles.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary index for medieval studies, covering 450 to 1500, primarily in Europe.
Indexes journals and festscriften published 1967 to the present. Search by author, title, publication name, year, language, subject terms, geographic areas, century, repository, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Searches the full text of electronic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Enormous bibliography the includes articles, books, dissertation abstracts, encyclopedia entries, and book reviews.

Art & Architecture Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Articles within the fields of art and architectural history, contemporary art, costume design, decorative arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and photography.
Art index retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles about art published in scholarly journals, art dissertations, magazines, and art reproductions. 1929 to 1984
Arts & Humanities citation index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present day.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Records for works of art from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400 (and through the end of the sixteenth century for manuscript holdings), with an emphasis on western art.
These records are illustrated by more than 60,000 images. This database is considered a premier resource for iconographical studies. NOTE: Browser must allow popups to view images.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from 2008 to the present.
Indexes journal articles, books,exhibition catalogs, conference procedings and dissertations and includes detailed abstracts . Topical coverage includes all traditional visual arts as well as new media, architectural history, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, classical studies and more. European art since late antiquity,American art since colonial times, and global art since 1945 are covered.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.