HC 301H: Food and Colonialism

This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.

EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.

Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic and Latino history, literature, political commentary, and culture. This collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics, shedding new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized them from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection is an archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.

This database contains some 45,000 documents from Cubas Casa de las Amricas, covering such diverse materials as articles, newspaper clippings, cable messages, interviews, conference memorabilia, etc., from 1959 onward.

This primary source collection documents the literary, intellectual and cultural milieu of Revolutionary Cuba. Sourced from the archives of the Casa de las Américas in Havana, it provides unprecedented access to files covering 1,046 writers, thinkers and artists from Cuba and abroad. More than 63,800 digital files are included in this online collection which includes many press clippings but also many rare records from non-indexed sources which had never appeared in the press.

If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Digitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries.

This resource contains materials from cultural studies of music from across the globe. Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and the Ethnomusicology Archive at the University of Washington, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.