Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Presidential Papers, Speeches, and Executive Orders

This guide provides information about, and links to, finding presidential papers.

Historical Papers

Until 1957, there was no systematic official publication of Presidential papers. In the late 1890s, Congress authorized an extensive retrospective compilation of the messages and papers of the Presidents from the period 1789 to 1897. Otherwise, citizens and scholars were forced to rely on various private compilations of Presidential materials. In 1957, The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States was begun. Retrospective volumes were produced for the Hoover Administration, Truman Administration, and earlier years of the Eisenhower Administration. (The Franklin D. Roosevelt papers had been privately published.) The following list shows the holdings of various presidential papers in the University of Oregon Library collections.

Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents. (Richardson) KNIGHT J 81. B96 and KNIGHT 308 Un3M2, also available in Documents in the Congressional Serial Set (vol. 3265, 10 vols.)
This is the retrospective compilation authorized by Congress. There were actually several different editions published, each of which covered different time periods and divided the time periods differently by volume. Below is shown the coverage by volume for the original edition (shelved under Dewey call number 308 Un3M2), and explanations of the coverage of later editions.
v. 1: 1789-1817 Washington, Adams, Jefferson, Madison
v. 2: 1817-1833 Monroe, JQ Adams, Jackson (1st term)
v. 3: 1833-1841 Jackson (2nd term), Van Buren
v. 4: 1941-1849 Harrison, Tyler, Polk
v. 5: 1849-1861 Taylor, Fillmore, Pierce, Buchanan
v. 6: 1861-1869 Lincoln, Johnson
v. 7: 1869-1881 Grant, Hayes
v. 8: 1881-1889 Garfield, Arthur, Cleveland (1st term)
v. 9: 1889-1897 B Harrison, Cleveland (2nd term)
v. 10: Appendix and Index
v. 11: 1897-1902 (Supplement) McKinley, T Roosevelt (first months)
-- There was a 1910 edition published by the Bureau of National Literature and Art in 11 volumes which covered through the first year of the Taft Administration (and thus included all of McKinley and T Roosevelt). This is the set shelved at KNIGHT J 81. B96.  
-- There was a 20 volume edition published in 1918 which added coverage of all of Taft and much of Wilson. This is shelved at KNIGHT 308 Un3M2 (alongside the original set).
Presidential Addresses and State Papers (Theodore Roosevelt) KNIGHT 308 Un3Rop
8 volumes (Presidential years: 1901-1909)
The Papers of Robert A. Taft KNIGHT E748.T2 A3 1997
Volume 1: 1889-1938 (Presidential years: 1909-1913); Published 1997
The Public Papers of Woodrow Wilson. KNIGHT 308W699pu
6 volumes (presidential years 1913-1921)
Warren G. Harding Papers: a Microfilm Edition. CRL T3/R69/M
Series 4, Presidential papers (1921-1923) This is not in the UO Libraries collections, but is available to UO researchers through the Center for Research Libraries.
Messages and Addresses: 1923-28. (Calvin Coolidge) KNIGHT 308 C777
One bound volume, including various message from government and Congressional documents.
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (Hoover) DOC-LC JK 1 .A52
1929-1933, 1 volume per year
The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt (DOC-LC E806 .R749)
1928-1945 (Presidential years: 1933-1945)
13 volumes, various imprints
The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States Online from Govinfo; [print] DOC-LC JK 1 .A52
 The annual cumulation of significant presidential statements. It covers most of what is in the Weekly Compilation. These annual cumulations are received about two years after the year that they cover. Volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Clinton, and George W. Bush are included in the Public Papers series.