Research Guides: INTL 465/565 Global Reproductive Health: Articles (Scholarly)

Review Articles

Review articles (or literature reviews) are a great way to get an overview of a research area, with many references to scholarly and research articles. Review articles undergo peer-review and thus qualify as scholarly articles.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences

The Annual Review journals are a good source of review articles. Web of Science (see middle column) is also good: do your search and then limit your results to reviews on the left side.

Finding articles

To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database. An database will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.

Highly recommended databases:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Other/specialized databases that may be useful:

Anthropology & Sociology

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & other sources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

History

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present

Medicine

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Journals in medical disciplines with a concentration on nursing and allied health
Medic Latina This link opens in a new window
Collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, covering a wide range of medical topics. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 140 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine

For more databases, see:

Need Help?

Recommended Journals

All are available to UO users and may be searched individually: