Research Guides: Strategic Communication: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Once you've picked a topic, the following databases will index Research/Academic articles. (some will also have popular magazines, trade journals, and magazines)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of academic journals in the fields of journalism, mass media, and communication. Some coverage of film, rhetoric and communication disorders.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Great for psychological research such as: attitude, motivation, behavior.

News Publications

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
New York times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription. UO’s New York Times online subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day. NYT Archive page offers alternatives).
OCLC #34107580

altered display of research guide link in the description, per request. mcg03102023
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Legal and general news sources. Contains PR Newswire.
Portland business journal This link opens in a new window
Portland Business Journal covers the latest business news from the Portland metropolitan area, covering 18 different industries, plus access to the Weekly Edition, Books of Lists, Local Search Archives, and more.
Use your @uoregon.edu email address to create an account at the link above. Make sure to join the University of Oregon group subscription during the registration process for full access. If you already have an account, simply login with your @uoregon.edu email address and the password you set up. If you'd like to access a Business Journal other than Portland Business Journal, use the dropdown menu in the top left corner of the screen to choose which journal you'd like to access. Your account gives you subscriber level access to all of them.
Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
This subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international business news, commentary, podcasts, blogs, WSJ+, and more. First-time users create a free account at this link. Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription