Biological Anthropology

contains datasets, grey literature, published articles, and more. Some is freely accessible/downloadable, some is just indexed.

The overarching goal of PRIMatE Data Exchange (PRIME-DE) is to create an open science resource for the neuroimaging community that will facilitate the mapping of the non-human primate connectome. To accomplish this, we will aggregate a combination of functional, diffusion and morphometric magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) datasets across laboratories around the world, and share the data with the larger scientific community.

The PAD is a multi-centered, relational database of biological variables in aging, captive nonhuman primates containing 999,587 data points for body weight, blood chemistry and hematology, for healthy subjects across time.

All The World’s Primates illustrates the diversity of our taxonomic order. The foundation of the website is a relational database with contributions from more than 300 scientists, most of whom have done research on primates in their natural habitats. Containing all of the 505 species and 195 subspecies recognized by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), as well as exciting current discoveries, the database details habitat, social behavior, diet, physical measurements, risks of extinction, and other facts critical to understanding primate lives. Users can organize primates by multiple methods that best suit their needs. Fully referenced with over 10,000 citations, the data accompany more than 3,000 photographs, as well as interactive maps for each species and subspecies, video, audio, links, search tools, multilingual glossaries, review articles, and other resources.

The NHP Genetic Variant Database houses Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms (SNPs) contributed by researchers from the Baylor College of Medicine, the New England National Primate Research Center, the Oregon National Primate Research Center, and the Genetics and Genomics Working Group, whose membership consists of representatives from all seven NPRCs. It currently houses SNPs for Rhesus Macaque, but we expect to expand the database to include Insertion and Deletion Polymorphisms (INDELS) and other species of Nonhuman Primate.

This database houses lexical, grammatical, and other data from languages spoken by hunter-gatherer groups and their small-scale agrarian neighbors. It is designed to facilitate the exploration of these data and to aid in phylogenetic research regarding the languages under investigation. At present, the languages targeted are predominantly from three major world regions: northwestern Australia, northern Amazonia, and California and the Great Basin.

The Hunter-gatherer Religion Database (HGRD) documents the early religious systems of 85 hunter-gatherer societies from around the world. This database is built from historic ethnographic source materials and contains quantitative variables on a range of supernatural beliefs and practices, as well as qualitative notes and references. Wherever possible, the focus is on how societies were before conversion to major world religions and prior to substantial shifts towards sedentary means of subsistence.

From the foods we eat, to who we can marry, to the types of games we teach our children, the diversity of cultural practices in the world is astounding. Yet, our ability to visualize and understand this diversity is often limited by the ways it traditionally has been documented and shared: on a culture-by-culture basis, in locally-told stories or difficult-to-access books and articles. D-PLACE represents an attempt to bring together this dispersed corpus of information. It aims to make it easy for individuals to contrast their own cultural practices with those of other societies, and to consider the factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences. Users can build comparative datasets that include not just cultural features, but also information on the linguistic and ecological environments in which a given cultural feature was documented.