Research Guides: Baroque Music: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to Baroque Music

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on the history, development, and repertoire of the Baroque style in music. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to Grove Music Online (containing The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, and the Grove American, Jazz, Opera, and Musical Instrument dictionaries), as well as the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Companion to Music (online)
This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject

A Dictionary of Musical Morphology by Siegmund Levarie; Ernst Levy
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100.L58
Publication Date: 1980
A Dictionary of Early Music by Jerome Roche; Elizabeth Roche
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100.R695
Publication Date: 1981
An Early Music Dictionary by Graham Strahle (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML108 .S88 1995
Publication Date: 1995

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music