Finding News & Research - BA 308: Leadership & Communication - Nuetzman - Research Guides at University of Oregon Libraries

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices, as well as current data and market indexes.
Limited to four simultaneous users. Please logout when you have finished. Text or data mining is prohibited in the Factiva database.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine

Requesting items from other libraries

You can request articles, books, and other items from other libraries if they are not available in the UO Libraries.

For articles, submit the citation you need through Interlibrary Loan. We'll find a library that has the publication you need, and the article will come to you as a pdf.

For books and AV materials, you can request items in two ways:

Search "UO + Summit" in LibrarySearch for what you need. Items available in Summit Libraries (academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest) can be requested and arrive in about 5 days.
Search WorldCat (Libraries Worldwide)" for what you need. Items can be requested and arrive in 7-10 days.

If you still can't find the item you need, but you have evidence that it exists (for example, you are looking for a specific title or edition of a book), submit a request using the UO Libraries' Interlibrary Loan form and we'll take care of the rest.

Interlibrary Loan Request form in Library Search