Research Guides: Art History & Architecture History: Articles (Databases)

About Databases

What is a Database?
A database brings together articles from different journals so that you can search in one place for related information.

How do I access Databases?
Items with a padlock image are only available to UO faculty, staff, and students. Use your Duck ID to log on. If you are not affiliated with UO, you can visit the library and access most of our secure resources for free on site.

E-Journals

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Discover, browse, and read top scholarly journals. Set up bookshelves with your favorites, and read on your phone, tablet, or computer.

Start here!

These databases are usually the most useful for Art and Architecture History research. If you can't find what you need in these databases, try the ones further down the page or schedule an appointment with your librarian: awang2@uoregon.edu.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Currently Art & Architecture Source is included when searching Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson).
Coverage includes, but is not limited to, over 750 indexed and abstracted journals, over 63,000 images, and more within the fields of art and architectural history, contemporary art, costume design, decorative arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and photography.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of articles, essays and chapters on contemporary art from journals, exhibition catalogs, and books including anthologies and festschriften.
ABM began indexing all aspects of art and art history including architecture and photography from 1800 to the present. Architecture was dropped in 1988. ABM currently indexes modern art from the late 19th century and photography from its invention. All geographic areas of the world are covered and topics range from traditional art media to body art, performance art, grafitti and computer art.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present day.

Other Art Databases

Art History Databases (Extended List)
Extended list of databases and electronic resources of interest to art history.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles on graphic design, computer design and CAD, animation, product design, industrial design, more traditional applied arts such as ceramics, glass, textiles, and jewelery and environmental design.
Art index retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles about art published in scholarly journals, art dissertations, magazines, and art reproductions. 1929 to 1984
BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books,exhibition catalogs, conference procedings and dissertations on fine and applied arts and architecture. Topical coverage includes European art since late antiquity and American art since European discovery and settlement. Asian, African, and most tribal arts are not included.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) from 2008 to the present.
Indexes journal articles, books,exhibition catalogs, conference procedings and dissertations and includes detailed abstracts . Topical coverage includes all traditional visual arts as well as new media, architectural history, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, classical studies and more. European art since late antiquity,American art since colonial times, and global art since 1945 are covered.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Records for works of art from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400 (and through the end of the sixteenth century for manuscript holdings), with an emphasis on western art.
These records are illustrated by more than 60,000 images. This database is considered a premier resource for iconographical studies. NOTE: Browser must allow popups to view images.

History of Art Bibliography
Open access to all the bibliographical references from the Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie and from the Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art. Includes materials from multiple languages.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Searches the full text of electronic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Subject Databases

ASIAN STUDIES

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Primary bibliography in the field of Asian Studies, which includes citations for journal articles, books, conference proceedings and festschriften. Covers only materials written in western languages. Coverage is from 1971 to the present. For bibliography prior to 1971, consult the Cumulative Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1941-1965 (Knight Z3001.C94)

GENDER STUDIES

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, popular, and internet publications, providing interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.

MESOAMERICAN STUDIES

FAMSI: Bibliografia Mesoamericana
A database of materials related to studying Mesoamerica.

AAA Library Help

Newspapers

Newspapers are a great place to find important contextual clues about your time period or topic. Remember, newspaper articles are not considered scholarly sources.

New York times (digital reproduction, 2008 - present) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of microfilmed edition. New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.