Research Guides: ARCH 484/584: Intermediate Architecture Design Studio: Pedagogies + Architecture

Pedagogies and Architecture

Recommended Books

These titles focus largely on the intersection of pedagogical theory and architecture design, many of which stem from Loris Malaguzzi's emphasis on the environment's impact on education ("Third Teacher"). You may need to request to have books delivered from other UO libraries to your pickup location of choice. See instructions for requesting book deliveries here.

The Third Teacher by OWP/P Architects; VS Furniture; Bruce Mau Design
Call Number: LB3221 .T494 2010 (Portland Library and Learning Commons)
ISBN: 9780810989986
Publication Date: 2010
Created by an international team of architects and designers concerned about our failing education system, The Third Teacher explores the critical link between the school environment and how children learn, and offers 79 practical design ideas, both great and small, to guide reader's efforts to improve our schools.
Architecture of Schools: The New Learning Environments by Mark Dudek
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780750635851
Publication Date: 2000
Mark Dudek views school building design as a particularly specialised field encompassing ever changing educational theories, the subtle spatial and psychological requirements of growing children and practical issues that are unique to these types of building. He explores the functional requirements of individual spaces, such as classrooms, and shows how their incorporation within a single institution area are a defining characteristic of the effective educational environment.
The Design of Childhood by Alexandra Lange
Call Number: GV425 .L36 2018 (Knight Library)
ISBN: 9781632866370
Publication Date: 2018
Reveals how years of decisions by toymakers, architects, and urban planners have helped--and hindered--American youngsters' journeys toward independence.
Functionalism Revisited by Jon Lang; Walter Moleski
Call Number: NA203.3 .L36 2010 (Design Library)
ISBN: 9781409407010
Publication Date: 2010
This book argues that the model of 'function' and the concept of a 'functional building' that we have inherited from the twentieth-century Modernists is limited in scope and detracts from a full understanding of the purposes served by the built environment. Includes a useful chapter called " The cognitive function of architecture: The environment as a source of learning."
Designing Schools by Julie Willis (Editor); Kate Darian-Smith (Editor)
Call Number: LB3221 .D47 2017 (Design Library)
ISBN: 9781138886193
Publication Date: 2017
Designing Schools explores the close connections between the design of school buildings and educational practices throughout the twentieth century to today. Through international cases studies that span the Americas, Europe, Africa and Australia, this volume examines historical innovations in school architecture and situates these within changing pedagogical ideas about the 'best' ways to educate children.
Blueprint for Tomorrow by Prakash Nair
Call Number: LB3205 .N35 2014 (Portland Library and Learning Commons)
ISBN: 9781612507057
Publication Date: 2014
Blueprint for Tomorrow provides simple, affordable, and versatile ideas for adapting or redesigning school spaces to support student-centered learning. In particular, the author focuses on ways to use current spending to modify existing spaces, and explains which kinds of adaptations offer the biggest return in terms of student learning.
Schools for the Future by Rotraut Walden
Call Number: LB3205 .S36 2009 (Portland Library and Learning Commons)
ISBN: 9780889373518
Publication Date: 2008
In this book, following a brief overview of the historical development of school buildings in different countries, contributions from international experts discuss how school buildings can work together with users' own creative responses and result in educational environments that are alive.

Recommended Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to publications in architecture, urban design, urban planning, interior design, and historic preservation from 1741 to present day.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

For a full list of databases available through UO Libraries:

Databases A-Z List

Select Articles

Davies, Dan, Divya Jindal-Snape, Chris Collier, Rebecca Digby, Penny Hay, and Alan Howe. "Creative Learning Environments in Education: A Systematic Literature Review." Thinking Skills and Creativity 8 (April 2013): 80-91.

Tanner, C. K. "The Influence of School Architecture on Academic Achievement." Journal of Educational Administration 38, no. 4 (2000): 309-330.

ARCH 484/584: Intermediate Architecture Design Studio

Pedagogies and Architecture

Recommended Books

Recommended Databases

Select Articles

Need Help?

Recommended Searches