Anthropology & Archaeology

This is a selected list, representing only a small slice of what exists. IRs are working hard to be well indexed for discoverability on the web, so a comprehensive list should be unnecessary.

• DataCite offers a database of data repositories for the sciences and social sciences
• Data-PASS (Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences) at ICPSR
• The Minnesota Population Center
• Open Access Directory's Data Repositories List
• the Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) Datasets, grey papers, published articles, and more. Some is freely accessible/downloadable, some is just indexed.

Collections of Open Access Journals

• Anthropologi.info's List of Open Access Anthropology Journals
• BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) from the Bielefeld University Library is an index of over 1800 international repositories of academic OA resources.
• Directory of Open Access Journals
• Online Open Access Journals & Scholarly Paper Collections compiled by Antioch University's Susan Hawes, PhD leans towards Psychology collections, but includes resources from across the social sciences
• Open Access Journals Search Engine for Sociology
• The Virtual Library of Human Sciences

Notable OA Anthropology Journals

• Cultural Anthropology is currently partially OA, but will convert to full-OA as of January 2014
• The SAA Archaeological Record Launched in January 2001, The SAA Archaeological Record is issued five times a year. It is a four-color magazine encompassing SAA business, commentary, news, regular columns, software reviews, job listings, opinions, and articles

Notable OA Sociology Journals

• Sociation Today is the first OA journal from a regional sociology association (The North Carolina Sociological Association)
• Yale Journal of Sociology

• MIT Open Courseware
• Open Culture is compiling lists of many OA resources, including this list of free courses in the social sciences from the world's top universities.

• The Society Pages is a website maintained by the University of Minnesota’s Department of Sociology. It provides the online hosting for the well-known Contexts magazine(not OA), but is more notable here, for the many prominent sociology blogs it hosts; one of the best known ones being Sociological Images.
• Anthropologi.info has compiled a large list of links of high-quality anthropology-focused blogs.
• Family Inequality is a notable sociology blog, and offers a robust list of links to other sociology blogs in its Blogroll.
• Anthro{dendum} is one of the main outlets for OA discussions in anthropology. (Fomerly "Savage Minds")

A brief selection of some sites that offer free self-archiving & file-sharing services combined with social-networking.