Research Guides: Ancient Jewish Art and Archaeology: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology by L. Michael White; Daniel Master (Editor-In-Chief); Jürgen K. Zangenberg; Avraham Faust; Beth Alpert Nakhai
Call Number: (Design Reference)
ISBN: 9780199846535
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Archaeology represents a new way of conceiving of the relationship between archaeology and biblical studies that allows the results of a wide cross-section of excavations and regional studies to contribute to the interpretation of the biblical text through an elucidation of the life ways of the ancient world.

Online Reference Sources

Oxford classical dictionary This link opens in a new window
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Classical Dictionary combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Language and subject dictionaries and reference works
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Design Library Help

Why Dictionaries & Encyclopedias?

Why dictionaries and encyclopedias?

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are great places to find fact-based information about your topic. This might include dates, time periods, family information, related artists or artwork or movements, and/or media used, among other things.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias help establish context for your topic. As you read entries, pay attention to the words being used, and then use these key terms for searching for articles, books, and videos.