Research Guides: African History: Secondary Sources

African History
- Secondary Sources
- Primary Sources

Secondary Sources for African History

These databases provide access to a wide range of scholarly materials about the history of Africa.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Database of African-published journals covering a wide range of scholarship and includes a number of Open Access journals that are freely available to everyone.
Browse the content of these Open Access journals or search across all content, but search results will contain citations and abstracts for content to which we do not subscribe.
AfricaBib.org This link opens in a new window
English language database indexing articles from multi-lingual journals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent. Includes the following bibliographic databases: Africana periodical literature, African women, Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, Water & Africa, & Education in Africa.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Covers a range of subjects focusing on history, but also includes literature, political philosophy, religion, theatre, and music.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, covering from 1906 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Language and subject dictionaries and reference works
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains millions of bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, recordings, videos, manuscripts, etc.

Need Help?

Japanese Studies and History Librarian

Kevin McDowell

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-8923

Subjects: Art, Art History and Architecture History, Arts and Administration, Asian Studies, Historic Preservation, History, Medieval Studies, Political Science, Southeast Asian Studies

Related Research Guides

African Studies
by Joel Liesenberg Last Updated Mar 6, 2025 115 views this year
African-American History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 212 views this year
Ancient History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 91 views this year
Ethnic Studies
by Miriam Rigby Last Updated Mar 6, 2025 185 views this year
Food Studies
by Miriam Rigby Last Updated Feb 4, 2025 300 views this year
History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 235 views this year
Finding Images
by Nancy Cunningham Last Updated Feb 3, 2025 449 views this year
Global Studies
by Joel Liesenberg Last Updated Mar 6, 2025 356 views this year