Research Guides: WR 121: Written Reasoning as Discovery and Inquiry: Find Scholarly Articles

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Find Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Articles (UO video tutorial)

Recommended Databases to Start With

Looking for a quick place to start? Here are our recommended subscription databases.

General Information Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
Gale in context. Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem. Full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues. Provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, interactive maps, infographics, & more.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Scholarly Research Databases

These databases may contain popular or trade sources like magazines in addition to peer-reviewed scholarly research articles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Get research articles at no cost to you!

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.

No PDF link?

If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.

Still no full text pdf? Ask us to Scan & Deliver it to you!

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).

Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.

Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.

Questions?

Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.

Linking UO Libraries with Google Scholar to Find Full-Text Articles

When you search Google Scholar on your personal computer, you can configure your settings so that UO Libraries resource links appear in your results. Then you can click the UO FindText to access a library item.

(TIP: If you're at a temporary computer and don't want to activate these settings, you can access Google Scholar via our Databases page (Library Home Page > Databases A-Z > G > Google Scholar).