Research Guides: PS 351: Democratic Dilemmas: Background information

CRS Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The CRS provides policy and legal analysis to the U.S. Congress. It is well-known for analysis that is authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan

CRS reports are a great source of background information--with references to primary sources--on a range of issues, including executive powers and procedures.

Note: Some CRS reports are regularly updated; the little clock/circular arrow icon means there are previous versions you can see.

Guides and Reference Sources

The following reference sources can help you narrow your research topic, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.

Encyclopedias and Guides

CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window
Narrative accounts of major legislation considered by the U.S. Congress.

For more recent coverage, see CQ Weekly (UO only)

Also in print: DOC-LC JK1 .C68 1945-2012

CQ Press Guide to Congress
Call Number: e-Book
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
ISBN: 1412904099
Publication Date: 2005
Over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles associated with both the "left" and "right" sides of the political spectrum.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History. (Two Volume Set)
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of U.S. political history. Covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.

See also the Public Policy Research Guide:

American Policy Directory
by Kathy Stroud Last Updated Jul 19, 2023 512 views this year

PS 351: Democratic Dilemmas

CRS Reports

Guides and Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and Guides

Need Help?