Research Guides: International Relations: Background Information

Background Information

The following dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks may be useful for background and overview information, definitions, references to scholarly books and articles, and more.

Arms Control by Robert E. Williams; Paul R. Viotti
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012
"This encyclopedia offers a comprehensive, multidisciplinary, up-to-date reference on the recent history and contemporary practice of arms control and nonproliferation."
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by Garrett W. Brown; Iain McLean; Alistair McMillan
ISBN: 9780199670840
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0684806576
Publication Date: 2001
Handbook of International Relations
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012
Created by "a team of the world's leading scholars of international relations", this Handbook reviews the many historical, philosophical, analytical and normative roots to the discipline and covers the key contemporary topics of research and debate today.
Routledge Handbook of American Foreign Policy
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011
In this handbook, leading experts in the field examine current trends in the way scholars study the history and theories of American conduct in the world, analysis of state and non-state actors and their tools in conducting policy, and the dynamics of a variety of pressing transnational challenges facing the United States.