Online access to two different multi-volume sets: American Men & Women of Science.
Complete dictionary of scientific biography.
Select them from the Biography section. You'll need a name or topic to search.
Very detailed biographies for the women in Biological and Biomedical Sciences. All of them are deceased National Academy of Sciences members.
Books at the UO - you'll have to get them off an actual shelf
African Americans in Science by Charles W. CareyThis encyclopedia provides the most complete treatment to date of the accomplishments of African American scientists—and the struggles of African Americans to find their place in the scientific community. * Over 250 alphabetically organized entries covering the breadth of scientific achievements by African Americans, as well as the institutions and organizations dedicated to helping African Americans pursue scientific careers * An extensive bibliography of both print and online sources for further reading * Indexes organized by individual name and by discipline * Overview entries on issues such as scientific theories of race, the Tuskegee syphilis experiment, and African Americans in various scientific fields
Call Number: Q141 .C2138 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-11
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers by Laurie Scrivener; J. Suzanne BarnesWomen have always been healers; they have helped each other through the birthing process, nursed the sick and wounded, and sought cures for illnesses and injuries. This book summarizes the lives of 240 significant or representative women who have engaged in the core professions of mid-wifery, nursing, and medicine (exclusive of psychiatry), and whose careers were primarily spent in the United States and Canada, from colonial times to the present. For the high school or college student, it will serve as an introduction to the lives of these healers; some students may be inspired to do further research on them or may be inspired to become healers themselves. Women's Studies scholars, biographers, and historians of science, medicine, or nursing, will find the biographies useful starting points for more in-depth research. Each biography provides references for further reading and study.
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Latinos in Science, Math, and Professions by David E. NewtonIn 1991, 4.5 percent of all bachelor's degrees in science and engineering were earned by Hispanics. In 2003, that percentage increased to 7.2, a percentage that exceeds the growth in the Latino population itself. As this population continues to grow in the United States, the influence and contributions of Latinos in science, mathematics, and other professions increases as well, despite such barriers as prejudice while pursuing education and career goals. ""Latinos in Science, Math, and Professions"" covers 177 Hispanic-American physical and social scientists, mathematicians, and inventors. From the early disease research of Carlos Juan Finlay to the current economic theories of Barbara J. Robles, Latinos have made many significant scientific and mathematical contributions to the world. This illuminating volume includes profiles of Latino economists, chemists, pharmacologists, doctors, biologists, astronauts, sociologists, engineers, and individuals in numerous other fields, whether they were born in the United States or emigrated from such countries as Argentina, Costa Rica, or Mexico. A bibliography directs the reader to sources for further information about Latino Americans in general, as well as those in the fields of science, math, and other professions. One subject index divides entries by area of expertise such as biotechnology and statistics, and additional indexes organize subjects by their year of birth and by their ethnicity or country of origin. This volume is enhanced throughout with many black-and-white photographs of the individuals profiled.
Call Number: Q141 .N46 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Native Americans Today by Bruce E. Johansen (Editor)This engaging collection of Native American profiles examines these individuals' unique life experiences within the larger context of U.S. history. * 100 biographical entries arranged in an A–Z, encyclopedic format * 50 photographs and illustrations include original artwork
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Notable Scientists from 1900 to the presentThis title, an updated and expanded edition of "Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, includes biographical profiles of nearly 1,600 scientists active in the natural, physical and/or applied sciences since the beginning of the 20th century.
Call Number: Q141 .N728 2001
Publication Date: 2000-11-27
A to Z of Women in Science and Math by Lisa YountFrom ancient times to the present day, scientifically inclined women in many cultures have had to battle against the traditional belief that men are more cognitively adept than women. At times throughout history, women were persecuted for their attempts to break down traditional gender barriers. Today, women scientists and mathematicians must continue to defend the quality of their work and demand the respect they deserve in the mathematical and scientific communities.""A to Z of Women in Science and Math, Revised Edition"" profiles 195 women who fought against these stereotypes throughout history and all over the world to forge new discoveries and theories that would eventually change the way we view science. This thoroughly revised book updates the story of each individual to the present day and features 38 new profiles. Among the profiles included are those of chemists, astronomers, geologists, environmental scientists, and a range of other professions and careers. In addition, new photographs have been added, and the bibliography has been updated. Subject indexes allow the reader to search by such professions as ""microbiology"" and ""paleontology."" Additional subject indexes organize individuals by country of birth, country of major scientific activity, and year of birth.