Resources - FOIA - Freedom of Information Act - Research Guides at University of Oregon Libraries

FOIA Resources

Government Resources

Since 1996, federal agencies have been required to make information released in response to FOIA requests available electronically in "electronic reading rooms."

FOIA.gov
FOIA.gov from the Dept. of Justice provides links to FOIA information by federal agency.
FOIA annual reports
The Dept. of Justice archives the annual FOIA reports of all agencies. The reports indicate how many FOIA requests were filed, how many were fulfilled, and how many were denied.
U.S. Government Information: FOIA
An extensive list of links to FOIA Offices & Resources from UCSD.

Non-Government Resources

Effective FOIA Requesting for Everyone: A National Security Archive Guide
A comprehensive guide from the nonprofit National Security Archive at George Washington University.
FOIA Mapper
"Access to the world of 'hidden' public data." An independent website created by Max Galka. "Browse by government agency" (https://foiamapper.com/agencies/) is very useful.
Government Attic
"governmentattic.org provides electronic copies of thousands of interesting Federal Government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act."
MuckRock
"File, track, and share public records requests." A collaborative news site for journalists, researchers, activists, and citizens.
National Security Archive
Founded in 1985 and hosted by George Washington University, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.