Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Comics & Cartoon Studies

UO Special Collections

The Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) Library at the University of Oregon has comics and cartoon collections.

  • The Gardner Fox Collection which features comics from the 1930s-1960s. Gardner was the creator of the DC superhero Flash and a writer for Batman, among other things.
  • The Quincy Scott Political Cartoons collection includes Scott's work as the staff cartoonist for The Oregonian newspaper in Portland (1931-1949).
  • The Homer Davenport Political Cartoons collection has hundreds of original cartoons created by Davenport (1867-1912), the most highly paid political cartoonist of his time.
  • The Christopher Murrin Collection is comprised of over 2,000 comic books from 1941 to the present day donated by comic book aficionado Murrin.

To get access to these collections, contact SCUA: spcarref@uoregon.edu.

UO Artists' Books

The Artists' Books Collection at the Design Library has some comics. Examples include content by the Kartoon Kings. To get access to items in the Artists' Books Collection, contact sdewaay@uoregon.edu.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Humanities Librarian & Curator of Moving Images

Elizabeth Peterson's picture
Elizabeth Peterson
Contact:
1299 University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, OR 97403-1299
541-346-3047

Art + Architecture Librarian

Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design's picture
Sara DeWaay - Art, Art History, Arts Admin, Design
Contact:
Design Library
200 Lawrence Hall
sdewaay@uoregon.edu
541-346-8785