Research Guides: WR 320: Scientific &amp; Technical Writing: Finding Articles

Finding Articles by Subject

Databases covering many subjects

LibrarySearch This link opens in a new window
Covers items owned by the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and articles and other scholarly research materials.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.

Specific Databases by subject

Computer Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) journals, magazines, newsletters, and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
Journals, Magazines and conference proceedings in electrical engineering, computer science, physics and related fields. For easier to read articles, filter to just the "Magazine" articles.

Physics

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Math

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Index articles and book reviews in the fields of mathematics and statistics.

Chemistry

SciFinderⁿ This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface. First time using SciFnder requires you to make an account.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Biology

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine

Human Physiology

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Geography

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles and more covering the geosciences: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy.
Indexes journals, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present.

Psychology

APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Searches PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, and PsycTESTS simultaneously.

Business

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Need a different subject?

Go to the Databases A-Z list for options for Anthropology, History, etc.
Also take a look at the Research Guide for your subject area to find appropriate databases and other resources.

Using one article to find others

If you've already found one great article on your topic, you can use it to find others.

To find newer articles, find the articles that cite your article, using either Web of Science (not just for science) or Google Scholar.

Web of Science

Search for your article by title:

After you click Search, find the article in the results list if there's more than one result and look to the right for the Times cited indicator:

Click on the number to get a list of the articles that cite this one.

Google Scholar