Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Remote Library Resources

Guide to Remote Library Resources

Finding Remote Resources at UO Libraries

Use LibrarySearch to search millions of item records available at UO, then narrow your search to remote materials using filters. You can find some journal articles directly through LibrarySearch, but you will likely have better luck searching in databases specific to your subject area, using our BrowZine search interface, or exploring resources temporarily available during the pandemic.

A screenshot of LibrarySearch showing "UO eResources" selected in the Availability menu and "Book Chapters" and "eBooks" selected from the Resource Type menu.

 

Finding eBooks using LibrarySearch

To locate eBooks, check the corresponding box (under the Resource Type filter). You may also want to include Book Chapters. In order to omit resources only available at other Summit libraries, filter to include just UO eResources (under Availability).

Be sure to click Apply to limit your results to your selected filters.

 

Getting More Help

Again, many resources are being made temporarily available during the pandemic that may not appear in our catalog. If you can't find what you're looking for, Ask Us through chat or email us.

Accessing eBooks Tutorial (video tutorial)

Created by Andrew Wang using Panopto.

Connect to the UO Network from Off Campus (text version)

1. Library Proxy Service

Links on library webpages (including  in LibrarySearch, Browzine, and Databases A-Z) run through a proxy server which verifies you are a UO member, and are eligible to access library materials. When you click on a proxied link for the first time in the session, you are prompted to enter your DuckID and password to access the resource.

2. VPN (Virtual Private Network) Service

For certain library resources, using the UO's VPN service will be necessary.  VPN is not necessary for Canvas or LibrarySearch access.

If the proxied links or bookmarklet aren't working for you, the VPN lets you join the UO's network from off-campus. Using the VPN slows your internet speed, so only connect when you need to access resources, and disconnect once you're done.

For more information on accessing Library resources from off-campus, please check the following links:

UO Libraries Request and Pickup Materials - Spring 2020

The UO Libraries has launched curbside pickup services to serve your needs during Spring 2020. Click the links below to learn about requesting materials and picking them up at Knight Library, the Jaqua Law Library, or the Portland Library and Learning Commons. We also offer home delivery.

Access to Trial Databases

Please note

In response to the COVID-19 emergency, a huge variety of materials have been made temporarily available by vendors during Spring 2020. Please contact a Subject Librarian if you would like assistance locating a resource.


Trial Databases

Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software. 

Install the VPN to use Trial Databases

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift