Research Guides: Gateway to Media: Academic Sources

Finding Articles in Academic Journals

Academic journals have the following characteristics: they are text-heavy, with few photographs or advertisements; they often have the word "Journal" or "Review" or "Research" in the title of the publication; the articles are based on research methodology; the articles usually end with an extensive bibliography or list of references; and the articles have often been peer-reviewed first before they are published.

Here are some databases that will be useful for finding articles in academic journals:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database, with indexing of about 8,000 periodicals and full-text for over 4,600 periodicals. Click Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit your results to articles from academic journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of academic journals in the fields of journalism, mass media, and communication. Some coverage of film, rhetoric and communication disorders.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A good database for public policy topics. Limit your search to Peer Reviewed.
Topics covered include government, international relations, environment, political science, public administration and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Another excellent database for public policy topics. Limit your search to Peer Reviewed.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers several thousand academic journals in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. It has a unique citation indexing feature, which allows one to trace who has cited a particular article or book.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index for societal and policy issues. Limit your search by checking the box Peer Reviewed.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles that will give the perspective of the business community. Click Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals to limit your results to articles from academic journals.

Research Guides at UO
Many other databases offer access to specialized periodicals. To learn about these, ask a reference librarian, or consult the Research Guides library web page.

Need Help?

Journalism, Communication and Digital Literacy Librarian

Talia Paz

Email Me

Subjects: Journalism & Communication, News