Research Guides: Education: Juvenile (Children's and YA) Collection

Need Help?

College of Education Librarian

she, her

Email Me

Contact:

kdonalds@uoregon.edu
541-346-4132 (landline)

Subjects: Communication Disorders, Counseling Psychology, Education, Family/Human Services, Grants / Foundations, Linguistics

What is the Juvenile Collection?

The McKnight Juvenile Collection contains children's and young adult books. If you have suggestions for the collection, please email Katherine Donaldson, the Education Librarian, using the contact information on this page.

How can I find books in the juvenile collection?

You can limit your search to books in the juvenile collection by going to the Advanced Search option in LibrarySearch. Under "Search Scope," select "Juvenile Collection." You can then do a keyword, title, or author search depending on what you're looking for.

Where is the Juvenile Collection located?

The Juvenile Collection is located on the third floor of Knight Library.

Click image for larger view (new window):

New titles in Juvenile Collection

Children's Book Awards

There are a number of awards given out for children's and young adult literature. Here is a sample list of some of the children's book award-winners that the UO Libraries focuses on collecting:

Other Places to Find Children's Books

UO Law Library
The UO Law Library maintains a children's book collection (picture books and board books) and also includes young adult books as part of their popular reading collection. You can find children's books at the Law Library by doing an advanced search in LibrarySearch for "kid" in the call number field (all call numbers begin with "kid"). While you cannot request to have these books sent over to Knight, you are welcome to visit the Law Library and check out the books there.
UO Popular Reading Collection
Another source for young adult literature is the UO Popular Reading Collection on the 2nd floor of Knight Library. This collection also contains recent adult fiction, graphic novels, and memoirs.
Eugene Public Library
Eugene Public Library cards are free to all City of Eugene residents or property owners. Non-residents can purchase a library card.
Springfield Public Library
Springfield Public Library Cards are free to Springfield city residents or anyone owning/renting property within city limits. Springfield District 19 teachers and Springfield Head Start teachers who live outside the city are also eligible for a one-year Card for educational purposes only. Non-residents can purchase a library card.