After day of field work, men rest in crowded barracks on industrial farm near Woodburn, Oregon. Bunk beds are supplied with thin pieces of carpet.
© 1988 John Bauguess
Photos of PCUN activities from 1985, PCUN records, Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, also found in the “Migrant Oregon” digital collection https://library.uoregon.edu/dc/latino_heritage/
You can use the library's online catalog to find books related to Under the Feet of Jesus. In the search box on the library's home page, you can tailor your search in any of these ways:
For books by Viramontes, choose "Author" from the pull-down menu on the left of the search box, type "Helena María Viramontes" in the blank space, choose "UO + Summit" from the pull down menu on the right, and click "search."
For books by Mexican American Women, use the "Subject" option from the pull-down menu, type "Mexican American Women -- Fiction" in the blank space, and click "search."
For other books about Migrant Mexican American Farm Workers, use the "Subject" option from the pull-down menu and type Migrant Agricultural Workers -- United States -- Fiction."
These are only some of the examples of ways you can use the catalog to search for further materials related to Viramontes' novel.
You can also use the library's online catalog to find books about Under the Feet of Jesus or similar works.
In the search box on the library's home page, choose "Subject" from the pull-down menu on the left of the search box, type your search terms -- for example -- "Helena María Viramontes" -- in the blank space, choose "UO + Summit" from the pull down menu on the right, and click "search."
You can also search for literary critical articles. The best source for this is the MLA database (below):
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature by
From East L.A. to the barrios of New York City and the Cuban neighborhoods of Miami, Latino literature, or literature written by Hispanic peoples of the United States, is the written word of North America's vibrant Latino communities.
Chicano Writers by Chicano Writers by 
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore by
Dictionary of Chicano Folklore charts the rich religious, social, artistic, and cultural heritage of Mexican Americans, who continue to evolve the customs and rituals connected to their Spanish and indigenous roots and the Spanish language. * Over 200 A-Z entries defining historical and contemporary terms, customs, legends, and rituals * 44 photos * Extensive bibliography
The Mexican American Experience by
Review: "Mexican Americans are rapidly becoming the largest minority in the United States, playing a vital role in the culture of the American Southwest and beyond. This A-to-Z guide offers comprehensive coverage of the Mexican American experience." "Entries range from figures such as Corky Gonzales, Joan Baez, and Nancy Lopez to general entries on bilingual education, assimilation, border culture, and southwestern agriculture. Court cases, politics, and events such as the Delano Grape Strike all receive full coverage, while the definitions and significance of terms such as coyote and Tejano are provided in shorter entries."--Jacket.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
