Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Text Descriptions of Images in Guides

This guide contains a long text description of images used in guides for web accessibility.

What's In a Database?

What’s in a Database?

A Database* is a computerized and structured set of data that can be manipulated and searched.

*Databases can be general or specific to a subject. For example, APA PsychNet focuses on Psychology but JSTOR includes academic journal articles from 75+ disciplines. Databases can contain one or multiple formats. Academic Search Premier has scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, books, and more, but Ebook Central only contains e-books.

Examples [of databases]

JSTOR

Academic Search Premier

APA PsychNet

Ebook Central

 

In a database you will find resources such as...

Scholarly Journals

Examples Nature, JAMA, Cell, Shakespeare Quarterly, American Economic Review

Books & E-books

Examples: To Kill a Mockingbird, Just Mercy, The Distance Between Us

Popular Magazines & Newspaper

Examples: New York Times, People, Time, National Geographic, Rolling Stone

Multimedia

Examples News clips, Photos, Music, Film

 

Where is the rest of the article?

Databases contain information records about items. Some have citations only, some have the full text of articles, and some articles can be scholarly or not. When in doubt, ask a librarian!

 

University of Oregon Libraries logo

Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) License

Created for educational purposes by: Bronwen K. Maxson (bmaxson[at]uoreogn.edu) and Nico Floresca (nicof[at]uoregon.edu)

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift