Research Guides: Accounting: Overview

Introduction

Welcome to the Accounting Research Guide.

Use this guide to find links to accounting resources at the UO Library. This guide includes links to resources for company financials, annual reports, and SEC filings, as well as key industry journals, and information on auditing, taxes, and regulations. Use the tabs to the right to navigate through the guide.

UO Campus Virtual Labs
The campus virtual lab is comprised of two virtual labs, a general use, 200-person "main" lab and a high-performance, 40-person lab. Both provide access to specialty software for classes that are traditionally only available in a physical computer lab.
Virtual Lab Software List

New Resource!

Gartner Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource is provided through UO's User Support Services. The Gartner Campus Access program provides faculty, students, and staff free, unlimited access to the Gartner research library which helps translate complex IT issues into comprehensive advice and meaningful analysis. This access includes Gartner's Hype Cycles, Magic Quadrants, research papers, and statistics.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is a data and mapping application with access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
Street & Smith's SportsBusiness journal This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Journal (SBJ) is a leading source for sports industry news, original reporting, and news aggregation. This subscription provides full access to SBJ's Daily, Weekly, and archival content, as well as their newsletters, podcasts, and videos.
Athletic This link opens in a new window
The Athletic is a service of The New York Times providing national and local sports coverage in the US and UK at the college and professional level. The subscription the Athletics' long-form journalism, original reporting, analysis, podcasts, mobile apps, and email newsletters.
Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries
Wall Street journal This link opens in a new window
This subscription provides current UO faculty, students, and staff access to domestic and international business news, commentary, podcasts, blogs, WSJ+, and more. First-time users create a free account at this link. Learn how to set up your access through UO Libraries’ subscription

Accounting Basics

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Service
WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. Subscriptions include Compustat Capital IQ and CRSP.
WRDS access is limited to faculty, staff, and graduate students.
Click "More" for registration information.
more...less...
1. On the WRDS homepage, click "Register" in the upper-right corner of the screen.
2. Register using your @uoregon.edu email address and click "Register."
3. Your registration request will be forwarded to LCB for authorization.

The WRDS services are for academic and non-commercial research purposes only. Users may not use data downloaded from the WRDS database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Company information database containing profiles for more than 10,000 publicly traded U.S. companies, 17,000 public international firms, subsidiary structures, property holdings, and key competitors.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of industries in the U.S., China, and global economies at the 5-digit NAICS code level.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Contains basic public and private company profiles on more than 20 million North American companies and over 70 million global companies including recent financial information, subsidiaries, key competitors, and executive profiles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886.

Related Guides

Business
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 1160 views this year
Economics
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Sep 25, 2023 198 views this year
Finance
by Genifer Snipes Last Updated Nov 20, 2023 218 views this year

Accounting

Need Help?

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

Credit

Introduction

New Resource!

Accounting Basics

Related Guides