Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Moving Image Collections in Special Collections & University Archives

This is a guide to archival moving image collections in Special Collections & University Archives.

Preferred Citation Format

Identification of item, Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Preservation and Conservation

"Conserving the Wayne L. Morse Film Collection" (Kit Becker, 2014)

Moving image materials require special handling, storage, and temperature- and humidity-controlled environments for long-term preservation. We engage in a variety of conservation activities to ensure our films and videos last as long as possible. These include cleaning, doing simple repairs, rehousing into archival-standard cans, and storing media in our cold, dry vaults. 

vinegar syndrome

A 16mm film suffering from vinegar syndrome.

Improper storage.

 Good

Better storage.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift